This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 20 November, 2019

Kingston and Cahalane goals help Cork stun Tipperary in Munster hurling opener

A four-point win for Kieran Kingston’s side.

Tipperary's Brendan Maher and Cork's Damien Cahalane.
Tipperary's Brendan Maher and Cork's Damien Cahalane.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cork 2-27
Tipperary 1-26

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

SECOND-HALF GOALS from youngsters Shane Kingston and Michael Cahalane enabled Cork to stun Tipperary in this afternoon’s Munster senior hurling championship opener at Semple Stadium.

Despite being outsiders entering the game, Cork produced a brilliant display with Mark Ellis and Conor Lehane both in outstanding form.

Substitute Cahalane pounced for the crucial late goal in the 68th minute after he gathered a Darragh Fitzgibbon delivery to drill the ball to the net.

Tipperary reduced the deficit to two points after that but Cork finished in style with Luke O’Farrell and Seamus Harnedy sealing a four-point success.

The teams were tied at 0-15 apiece at the interval before Kingston whipped home the first goal in the 43rd minute.

But Tipperary, who had Michael Breen in excellent point-scoring form, rallied and John McGrath unleashed a bullet to the net in the 57th minute, following a sublime pass by Seamus Callanan to pick him out.

However Cork never wilted and secured a major scalp to book a semi-final clash with Waterford on 18 June.

Cork hit the opening two points of the game and that set the tone for a first-half where they matched the reigning provincial kingpins. They were grateful to see goalkeeper Anthony Nash tip a shot from Brendan Maher over the bar early in the half and then bravely block a drive from Callanan before the interval.

Youngsters Kingston and Luke Meade both hit early points to settle them while Lehane, Alan Cadogan and Horgan also raised white flags. Tipperary had no shortage of scorers themselves with Breen, Noel McGrath and Dan McCormack all showing up well.

The sides were level on 12 occasions in that high-scoring opening period before Cork made that early breakthrough after the break when Kingston profited from the spade work of Harnedy to find the net.

Tipperary faced a four-point deficit but never allowed the gap to increase further and when McGrath hit that cracking goal, they were back in front by 1-22 to 1-21.

Cork’s response was timely with Lehane and Kingston edging them back ahead, and in a frenetic finale extra-time looked a distinct possibility. Then Cahalane pounced and Cork supporters in the attendance of 30,103 were left celebrating an early summer victory.

Scorers for Cork: Conor Lehane 0-10 (0-4f, 0-1 ’65), Shane Kingston 1-4, Patrick Horgan 0-4, Michael Cahalane 1-0, Luke Meade, Alan Cadogan 0-3 each, Seamus Harnedy 0-2, Luke O’Farrell 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Michael Breen, Seamus Callanan (0-4f) 0-6 each, John McGrath 1-1, Noel McGrath, Dan McCormack 0-3 each, John O’Dwyer (0-1 sideline), Brendan Maher 0-2 each, Padraic Maher, Niall O’Meara, Sean Curran 0-1 each


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
3. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
2. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

15. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
10. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)


23. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton) for Cadogan (57)
24. Michael Cahalane (Bandon) for Meade (66)
19. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk) for Fitzgibbon (70)


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. John O’Keeffe (Clonoulty-Rossmore)

5. Seamus Kennedy (St. Mary’s)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Sean Curran (Mullinahone)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Michael Breen (Ballina)
12. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)


25. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane McDonaghs) for Curran (51)
24. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule) for Kennedy (58)
17. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan) for Barrett (inj) (64)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Over a decade of Cork-Tipperary playing service, now set to cheer on as hurling fans

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: