This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 14 December, 2018

First-half blitz sees Tipperary get minor championship off to winning start in Thurles

Tommy Dunne’s side got their Munster MHC campaign off to a winning start against Cork on Sunday.

Cian O'Farrell and Cillian O'Donovan battle for possession.
Cian O'Farrell and Cillian O'Donovan battle for possession.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Tipperary 4-15

Cork 1-13

Denis Hurley reports from Semple Stadium

THREE FIRST-HALF goals paved the way for Tipperary to kick-start their Munster MHC campaign, seeing off Cork in Thurles on Sunday.

A week ago, Cork also allowed three opening-period goals to Clare but, while they fought back to win on that occasion, they were unable to bridge the gap this time.

While the visitors had the lead from Pádraig Power inside 13 seconds, Tipp responded ferociously.

James Devaney won a penalty for them almost immediately, and though Cian Long saved his effort, they had the ball the net soon after, Jack Morrissey feeding Kevin Maher for a fine finish.

After Seán Hayes got the home side’s first point, he set up Devaney for a first-time shot to make it 2-1 to 0-1 on eight minutes and Hayes then added another point to put Tipp firmly in control.

Cormac O'Brien and Kian O'Kelly Cork's Cormac O'Brien and Kian O'Kelly of Tipperary. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork settled, with Power their most impressive forward while Paul Cooney did well in midfield, but coming up to half-time Tipp had a third goal. Hayes with a superb lobbed finish following a good ball up the line from Johnny Ryan.

They held a 3-7 to 0-8 half-time lead, though Power and Cormac O’Brien began the second half with points for Cork to reduce the deficit. After Devaney’s frees pushed Tipp clear again, Cork got some hope as sub Aaron Mulcahy netted to being them back to 3-10 to 1-11.

Max Hackett, excellent throughout at midfield for Tipp, had a point in response before sub Devon Ryan got the fourth goal, set up by Devaney, and from there they were not to be denied.

Scorers for Tipperary: James Devaney 1-5 (0-4 frees), Seán Hayes 1-2, Kevin Maher, Devon Ryan 1-1 each, Max Hackett 0-3, Jack Morrissey 0-2, John Campion 0-1.

Scorers for Cork: Pádraig Power 0-4, Cormac O’Brien (frees), Daniel Hogan (0-1 free) 0-3 each, Aaron Mulcahy 1-0, Evan Murphy (frees), Shane Barrett 0-2 each.


1. Aaron Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)

2. Conor O’Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs)
3. Conor Whelan (Mullinahone)
4. Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris)

5. Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers)
6. Fintan Pucell (Drom & Inch)
7. Frank Hanafin (Holycross-Ballycahill)

8. Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris)
9. John Campioon (Drom & Inch)

10. Seán Hayes (Kiladangan)
11. Jack Morrissey (Moycarkey-Borris)
12. Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

13. Kevin Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
14. Cian O’Farrell (Nenagh Éire Óg)
15. James Devaney (Borris-Ileigh)


17. Seán Phelan (Nenagh Éire Óg) for Hanafin (23, injured)
19. Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams) for O’Farrell (half-time)
21. Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane) for Campion (51)
18. Mikey O’Shea (Mullinahone) for Morrissey (57)
20. Brian Renehan (Cappawhite) for O’Kelly (60)


1. Cian Long (Glen Rovers)

2. Christian Murphy (Midleton)
3. Pádraic Cullinane (Ballinscarthy)
4. Niall O’Riordan (Mallow)

5. Luke Horgan (Glen Rovers)
6. Cormac O’Brien (Newtownshandrum)
7. Cillian O’Donovan (Douglas)

8. Paul Cooney (Ballincollig)
9. Olan Broderick (Killeagh)

10. Pádraig Power (Blarney)
11. Shane Barrett (Blarney)
12. Daniel Hogan (Sarsfields)

13. Alan Connolly (Blackrock)
14. Paddy O’Flynn (Bride Rovers)
15. Evan Murphy (Glen Rovers)


17. Ciarán O’Brien (St Catherine’s) for Horgan (50)
18. Cian McCarthy (St Oliver Punkett’s) for O’Donovan (49)
19. Cian O’Donovan (Sarsfields) for Cullinane (half-time)
20. Ethan Twomey (St Finbarr’s) for Broderick (34-36, blood)
21. Cathal Hickey (Lisgoold) for Connolly (half-time)
23. Aaron Mulcahy (Midleton) for Murphy (half-time)

Referee: Thomas Walsh (Waterford).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘The players have worked hard to get the reward of a very good performance like that’

Defeat to Cork could lead to a ‘very short year for Tipp,’ says two-time All-Star McGrath

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel