Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Kevin Flahive, Sean O'Donoghue and Michael Hurley all return to the Cork team.
Kevin Flahive, Sean O'Donoghue and Michael Hurley all return to the Cork team.
Image: INPHO

Key figures return as Cork make three changes for Munster U21 final against Kerry

Kevin Flahive, Sean O’Donoghue and Michael Hurley all return for Cork.
Mar 28th 2017, 8:23 AM 9,538 5

CORK HAVE BROUGHT in three players from last year’s All-Ireland U21 final side for tomorrow’s EirGrid Munster U21 football decider against Kerry in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Kevin Flahive, Sean O’Donoghue and Michael Hurley all did not start the semi-final win over Limerick but have been named in the starting fifteen for the provincial final.

O’Donoghue and Hurley start at wing-forward and corner-forward respectively, with both players coming on before half-time in the victory over Limerick. Castlehaven player Hurley scored 1-3 in that game.

Flahive, a defender on last year’s side, comes in at midfield to partner Eoin Lavers.

Sean O’Leary, Daniel Meaney and Michael Dineen are the three players to make way as they all drop to the bench.

There are nine survivors from Cork’s Munster final win over Kerry in Tralee last year. John Mullins, Flahive, Brian Coakley, Sean Powter, O’Donoghue and Hurley all started that game while Stephen Sherlock, Cian Kiely and Lavers all came on as substitutes.

Throw-in tomorrow night in Páirc Uí Rinn is 7.30pm.


1. Ross Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

2. Sean Daly (Dohenys)
3. John Mullins (Eire Óg)
4. Sean Wilson (Douglas)

5. Jerry O’Riordan (Carbery Rangers)
6. Aidan Browne (Newmarket)
7. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)

8. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
9. Eoin Lavers (Dohenys)

10. Brian Coakley (Carrigaline)
11. Sean Powter (Douglas)
12. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra – captain)

13. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)
14. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarr’s)
15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)


16. Chris Kelly (Eire Óg)
17. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
18. Daniel Meaney (St Michaels)
19. Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty)
20. Sean O’Leary (Bantry Blues)
21. Mark Buckley (Dohenys)
22. Sean O’Donovan (Ilen Rovers)
23. Tim Foley (Bantry Blues)
24. Michael Dineen (Naomh Aban)


EirGrid is a state-owned company that manages and develops Ireland’s electricity grid. For more information please see

Source: The42 GAA/SoundCloud

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Quiz: Can you recognise these former Leinster and Munster U21 football winners?

Senior defender and All-Ireland club winner return as Kerry make 4 changes for Munster U21 final

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


    Back to top