14-man Cork see off Waterford to book Munster hurling final clash with Clare

Patrick Horgan and Conor Lehane hit a combined total of 0-14 for the winners.

Cork 0-23
Waterford 1-15

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles

THEY TOPPLED THE All-Ireland champions last month and now Cork have added the scalp of Waterford in their Munster campaign.

Patrick Horgan and Conor Lehane weighed in with 0-14 between them in Semple Stadium today as Kieran Kingston’s side overcame the 61st minute dismissal of corner-back Colm Spillane when he was shown a second yellow card.

Conor Lehane with Austin Gleeson Waterford's Austin Gleeson challenges Cork's Conor Lehane. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

The teams had been tied at 0-10 apiece at the interval but Cork exploded from the blocks in the second half and despite Maurice Shanahan grabbing the only goal of the game in the 46th minute, Waterford never managed to use that as a springboard.

Derek McGrath’s side only bagged 0-3 after that Shanahan goal had brought them level, the Lismore man bustling through the Cork rearguard and availing of the sliothar falling kindly for him to whip home a close-range shot.

But it was not a turning point in their favour as Cork dominated thereafter to end Waterford’s hopes of contesting a third successive Munster final.

An absorbing opening period saw the teams tied at 0-10 apiece at the interval. Cork had reason to rue not being in front as they spurned three goal chances, the most clearcut occurring in the 34th minute when Stephen O’Keeffe produced an astonishing save to deny Seamus Harnedy.

Pauric Mahony was Waterford’s top scorer and kept them in the hunt after they had trailed 0-8 to 0-5 in the 19th minute. They were two points adrift in the 28th minute before Jamie Barron and Kevin Moran tied the teams at the break.

Conor Lehane with Tadgh de Burca Cork and Waterford players battle for possession. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Cork began the second-half impressively as they picked off their points to surge ahead 0-15 to 0-11. They leaked that goal to Shanahan but responded with five of the next six points in the game to move into the driving seat.

Spillane was sent-off when Cork were in front 0-20 to 1-13 but even that setback did not deter them as they outscored Waterford 0-3 to 0-2 in the closing stages and claim an impressive victory.

Kieran Kingston and assistant manager Diarmuid O'Sullivan celebrates at the final whistle Kieran Kingston and Diarmuid O'Sullivan celebrate Cork's victory. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-10 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65), Conor Lehane 0-4, Seamus Harnedy 0-2, Mark Ellis, Mark Coleman (0-1 sideline), Bill Cooper, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Alan Cadogan, Michael Cahalane, Luke O’Farrell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-5 (0-1f), Maurice Shanahan 1-1 (0-1f), Stephen Bennett, Austin Gleeson, Jamie Barron 0-2 each, Brian O’Halloran, Shane Bennett, Kevin Moran 0-1 each.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)


25. Michael Cahalane (Bandon) for Kingston (55)
21. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields) for Fitzgibbon (60)
24. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton) for Meade (60)
22. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr) for Lehane (inj) (68)
23. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers) for Cadogan (72)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

12. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
13. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)


19. Tommy Ryan (Tallow) for Stephen Bennett (46)
20. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg) for Shane Bennett (54)
15. Darragh Fives (Tourin) for Fives (58)
23. Jake Dillon (De La Salle) for Austin Gleeson (63)
22. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan) for Walsh (66)

Referee: Barry Kelly (Westmeath)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

No country for young men! Impressive Tyrone power past hapless Donegal to book Ulster final

Galway score a massive 33 points as they cruise past Offaly into Leinster final

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: