This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 16 September, 2019

Gary Sice and Michael Lundy on fire as Corofin cruise to Galway title

On a day when Corofin’s forwards were unstoppable, they claimed a 10th crown since 1997.

Michael's Jamie Downes tackles Ronan Steede of Corofin.
Michael's Jamie Downes tackles Ronan Steede of Corofin.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Corofin 5-12

St Michael’s 0-9

THERE WAS NEVER any sign of a shock at Tuam Stadium as Corofin claimed a 16th Galway SFC title.

Corofin have been the dominant force out west during the past two decades and this was their 10th county victory since 1997.

City side St Michael’s, the rank outsiders, kicked the first point courtesy of an Eddie Hoare free, but Corofin then struck 2-7 without reply.

Micheal Lundy’s blistering pace caused Michael’s all sorts of problems and the favourites dictated the tempo.

Martin Farragher crafted space for Lundy, who bagged a fourth minute goal as Corofin seized control.

Michael Farragher added a second major in the 11th minute following smart approach work by Gary Sice and Martin Farragher.

Having endured so much Michael’s finally ended a 24 minute search for a score when Keith Ward landed a fine effort from play.

Michael’s were efficient on the rare occasions they moved the ball into Corofin territory they were converting taking four out of five first half chances.

Jamie Downes A dissapointed Jamie Downes looks on. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

But Corofin still departed at the break armed with a 2-9 to 0-4 lead and the only issue that needed to be determined after the restart was the winning margin.

For a spell Michael’s were gritty, but Corofin still pounced for a third goal in the 46th minute when Lundy connected with a quick Sice free.

Late goals from Sice and substitute Joe Canney sealed the deal as Corofin eased to an emphatic success.

Scorers for Corofin:
Gary Sice 1-5 (3fs), Micheal Lundy 2-0, Michael Farragher 1-1, Joe Canney 1-1, Ronan Steede 0-1, Alan Burke 0-1, Ciaran McGrath 0-1, Liam Silke 0-1, Ian Burke 0-1.

Scorers for St Michael’s:
Eddie Hoare 0-5 (2fs), Brian Madden 0-1, Eamonn Brannigan 0-1, Keith Ward 0-1, Neil Grogan 0-1.


1 Thomas Healy

2 Michael Comer
3 Kieran Fitzgerald
4 Cathal Silke

5 Ciaran McGrath
6 Alan Burke
7 Liam Silke

8 Daithi Burke
9 Ronan Steede

10 Gary Sice
11 Michael Farragher
12 Micheal Lundy

13 Adrian Molloy
14 Martin Farragher
15 Ian Burke

25 Joe Canney for Michael Farragher (14 mins)
13 Adrian Molloy for I Burke (43 mins, black card)
21 Greg Higgins for D Burke (47 mins)
17 Aeneas Lawless for C Silke (52 mins)
18 Conor Cunningham for McGrath (54 mins)
29 Dylan Wall for Martin Farragher (57 mins).

St Michael’s:

1 Blain Sheridan

2 Kealan Clancy
3 David Cunnane
4 Peter Ruane

5 John Hanbury
6 Jamie Downes
7 Brian Madden

8 Frank Daly
9 Neil Grogan

10 Eamonn O’Donnell
11 Greg Rogan
12 Eamonn Brannigan

13 Keith Ward
14 Eddie Hoare
17 Shane Connaughton

15 Damien Connaughton for Hansbury (36 mins)
20 Tommy Curran for Grogan (42 mins)
18 Sean Hoare for S Connaughton (53 mins)
21 C Tummon for O’Donnell (56 mins)
22 Paddy McTigue for Brannigan (60 mins).

Referee: James Molloy.

Kilmallock upset the odds to win Limerick SHC title

O’Connor brothers help Ballintubber take third Mayo crown after early goal blitz

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel