BE PART OF THE TEAM

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Thursday 6 May 2021
Advertisement

Costa denies biting Gareth Barry as FA reveals they're waiting on referee's report

The striker has found himself at the centre of yet another controversial incident.

Image: Martin Rickett/PA Wire/Press Association Images

UNDER THE MICROSCOPE once again, Chelsea striker Diego Costa has denied biting Everton’s Gareth Barry during Saturday’s heated FA Cup quarter-final clash at Goodison Park.

The controversial Spanish international was sent-off with six minutes to go after he clashed with Barry and picked up a second yellow card.

But TV replays showed how Costa buried his head in Barry’s neck and seemed to make an initial biting motion before then thinking better of it.

After the game, Chelsea referenced the incident in a couple of Twitter posts.

The FA have revealed that they are aware of the incident but will wait on the official report from match referee Michael Oliver before deciding on whether to take disciplinary action.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Chelsea’s disappointing season continued on Merseyside as the Toffees ran out 2-0 winners to book their place in the semi-finals, thanks to a brace from Romelu Lukaku.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Diego Costa finally handed first Chelsea red card but did he try to bite Gareth Barry?

Diego Costa’s neck nuzzle and more Premier League/FA Cup talking points

About the author:

Eoin O'Callaghan

Read next:

COMMENTS (6)