This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 22 February, 2019

St Vincent's star Nathan Mullins wins man-of-the-match as Donegal set-up Tyrone meeting

Paddy McBrearty top-scored with 0-8 for Donegal in the McKenna Cup semi-final victory over Armagh.

Image: Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Donegal 0-20

Armagh 1-10

DONEGAL BOOKED A showdown with Tyrone in the McKenna Cup final after a 0-20 to 1-10 win over Armagh in the last night’s semi-final.

St Vincent’s footballer Nathan Mullins, who has joined Declan Bonner’s squad this season, won man-of-the-match after a strong two-point display from midfield.

Paddy McBrearty clipped over eight points while his younger brother Stephen contributed 0-3 off the bench during the seven-point victory.

The game took place in Celtic Park after both Ballybofey and the Athletic Grounds failed pitch inspections yesterday morning.

Teenage full-forward Eamon McGeown netted a first-half goal to leave the Orchard tied at 1-6 to 0-9 at the interval.

McGeown finished with 1-3, but McBrearty shone after the break to send Bonner’s side into the decider against seven in-a-row chasing Tyrone on the weekend of 17/18 February.

Scorers for Donegal: Paddy McBrearty 0-8, Darach O’Connor, Stephen McBrearty and Niall O’Donnell 0-3 each, Nathan Mullins 0-2 and Ciaran Thompson 0-1.

Scorers for Armagh: Eamon McGeown 1-3, Michael Stevenson 0-3, Oisin MacIomhair, Stephen Sheridan, Conor White and Edward English 0-1 each.


M A McGinley

P Brennan
S McMenamin
C Ward

E Doherty
L McLoone
T McClenaghan

J McGee
N Mullins

E Ban Gallagher
C Thompson
C McGonigle

P McBrearty
M O’Reilly
D O’Connor


N O’Donnell for T McClenaghan
C McGinley for S McMenamin
S McBrearty for C Thompson
K McBrearty for J McGee
B McCole for P McBrearty.


P Morrison

J McAlinden
O Lappin
J Cosgrove

J McElroy
R Kennedy
D McKenna

A Findon
S Sheridan

R Lappin
A Duffy
C White

M Stevenson
E McGeown
O MacIomhair


R McQuillan for O Lappin
R Owens for S Sheridan
C McGeary for D McKenna
E English for C White
D McQuade for R Lappin.

Referee: N McKenna.

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Heavy rain sees 4 All-Ireland club semi-finals and O’Byrne Cup final postponed

‘He’s on a trajectory to win five in-a-row and that’s probably what’s driving him more than anything else’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel