This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Monday 25 March, 2019

Dublin see off brave Fermanagh to book All-Ireland semi-final against Mayo or Donegal

An eight-point win today for Jim Gavin’s side.

Bernard Brogan celebrates scoring a goal Bernard Brogan celebrates scoring a goal for Dublin. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Dublin 2-23
Fermanagh 2-15

- Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

DUBLIN SWEPT INTO another All-Ireland semi-final with an emphatic victory over Fermanagh in today’s quarter-final clash at Croke Park.

Jim Gavin’s side had eight points to spare at the final whistle but in truth they controlled this game for long stages.

Dublin were ahead 1-13 to 0-6 at the interval and possessed a 13-point lead with ten minutes remaining on the clock.

Fermanagh rallied with a spirited response that yielded two late goals but Dublin were fully deserving of their success.

Jack McCaffrey and Ruairi Corrigan Jack McCaffrey challenges Ruairi Corrigan Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Victory propels Dublin into an All-Ireland semi-final clash on 30 August where they will face the winners of next Saturday’s quarter-final between Mayo and Donegal.

The game will either provide a rematch of the 2013 All-Ireland final when Dublin saw off Mayo or the 2014 All-Ireland semi-final when Dublin were despatched by Donegal.

It will represent Dublin’s toughest examination of a 2015 campaign where they have cantered through Leinster and today overcame Fermanagh to book a berth at the last four stage.

Diarmuid Connolly is tackled by Marty OÕBrien Diarmuid Connolly is tackled by Marty O'Brien Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Bernard Brogan top scored with a 1-6 haul with his goal in the first-half coming from a decisive finish after a superb delivery from distance by Jack McCaffrey.

In the other corner Dean Rock bagged 0-7 while it was Paul Flynn who notched Dublin’s second goal with five minutes remaining when he palmed the ball to the net.

Paddy Andrews and Ciarán Kilkenny also chipped in with 0-3 apiece for the Leinster champions.

Bernard Brogan scores a goal Bernard Brogan scores Dublin's first goal Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Fermanagh played with tremendous spirit and didn’t wilt in the face of Dublin’s drive. It took a while for them to get to grips with the match as they fell ten points behind at the interval.

But in the second-half Fermanagh refused to fold and they gave their fans huge reason to cheer as they struck two goals into the Hill 16 end.

The first one in the 60th minute was controversial as Sean Quigley knocked Stephen Cluxton, who was in possession of the ball, over his goal line. Instead of awarding a free out to Dublin, a goal was the resultant call.

Brian Fenton with Eoin Donnelly and Richard OÕCallaghan Dublin's Brian Fenton with the Fermanagh duo of Eoin Donnelly and Richard O'Callaghan. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The second Fermanagh goal arrived in injury-time when Tomás Corrigan fired to the net after a calamitous mix up in the Dublin defence between Cluxton and substitute Michael Fitzsimmons.

Fermanagh fans Fermanagh fans during the game Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Bernard Brogan 1-6, Dean Rock 0-7 (0-2f, 0-1 ’45), Paul Flynn 1-1, Ciarán Kilkenny, Paddy Andrews 0-3 each, Diarmuid Connolly 0-2, Brian Fenton 0-1.

Scorers for Fermanagh: Seán Quigley 1-9 (0-4f), Tomás Corrigan 1-2, Barry Mulrone, Conall Jones 0-2 each.

Paddy Andrews with Ryan Jones Dublin's Paddy Andrews with Fermanagh's Ryan Jones Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)

5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
18. Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge Street)

10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincents)

13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
17. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)
15. Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunketts/Eoghan Ruadh)

Jonny Cooper with Sean Quigley Dublin's Jonny Cooper with Fermanagh's Sean Quigley Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

9. Michael Darragh MacAuley (Ballyboden St-Enda’s) for Bastick (half-time)
14. Kevin McManamon (St Judes) for Kilkenny (half-time)
20. Alan Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh) for Connolly (46)
25. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala) for Cooper (49)
26. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams) for McCarthy (54)
23. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille) for Andrews (66)

Barry Mulrone reacts to a missed chance Barry Mulrone reacts to a missed chance for Fermanagh. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Thomas Treacy (Devenish)

2. Mickey Jones (Derrygonnelly)
3. Marty O’Brien (Devenish)
4. Niall Cassidy (Roslea)

5. Declan McCusker (Ederney St Joseph’s)
6. Ryan McCluskey (Enniskillen)
7. James McMahon (Roslea)

8. Eoin Donnelly (Coa – captain)
9. Richard O’Callaghan (Enniskillen)

10. Barry Mulrone (Devenish)
11. Ryan Jones (Derrygonnelly)
12. Ruairí Corrigan (Kilnawley)

13. Paul McCusker (Ederney St Joseph’s)
14. Seán Quigley (Roslea)
15. Tomás Corrigan (Kilnawley)

20. Conall Jones (Derrygonnelly) for McCusker (54)
26. Tiarnan Daly (Derrygonnelly) for Mickey Jones (54)
22. Daniel Kille (Lisnaskea) for Ruairí Corrigan (69)

Referee: Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry)

‘Hard work has paid off’ as Cooper scores 2-3 in 80th championship game

Unstoppable Kerry beat Kildare by a whopping 27 points to book semi spot

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: