Dublin: 7°C Wednesday 1 December 2021

Dublin are All-Ireland champions again as they clinch final win over Kerry

Jim Gavin’s side win out against the Kingdom for a third crown in five years

Dublin's Paddy Andrews drives past Kerry's Fionn Fitzgerald.
Dublin's Paddy Andrews drives past Kerry's Fionn Fitzgerald.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Dublin 0-12
Kerry 0-9

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

DUBLIN TOUGHED IT out to clinch victory over Kerry in a gruelling battle in today’s All-Ireland decider.

On a rain-sodden afternoon at Croke Park, Jim Gavin’s side coped best with the hugely testing conditions.

They fashioned a 0-8 to 0-4 interval advantage and while Kerry pared the deficit back to two points in the second-half, Dublin’s defensive resilience helped them shut down the Kingdom’s attack.

Colm Cooper with James McCarthy and Philly McMahon James McCarthy is challenged by Colm Cooper Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Paul Flynn notched a vital point in the 61st minute to send them three clear and the insurance score arrived three minutes from the end when Alan Brogan, just sprung off the bench, lofted a shot over the bar to the delight of Hill 16.

Kerry launched a late onslaught but a Bryan Sheehan pointed free was all they could muster. They had a shout for a penalty when Kieran Donaghy was grounded and the ball slipped from Killian Young’s grasp at another stage but the goal they craved ultimately did not arrive.

Kerry shipped the first two points of the match but Paul Geaney and James O’Donoghue kicked a brace apiece to bring them back into it at 0-4 apiece by the 26th minute.

A dejected Colm Cooper A dejected Colm Cooper after today's game Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Yet the wheels fell off their challenge before the interval as Dublin reeled off four points without reply courtesy of Bernard Brogan, Jack McCaffrey, Paddy Andrews and Philly McMahon.

Trailing by 0-8 to 0-4 at the midway mark, Kerry looked to be in trouble but they grabbed a foothold early in the second-half through excellent points from Jonathan Lyne and Darran O’Sullivan.

Rory O'Carroll and Philly McMahon with Kieran Donaghy Rory O'Carroll and Philly McMahon battling for the ball with Kieran Donaghy. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Dublin came again to sail four clear thanks to Brogan and Flynn but when O’Donoghue and O’Sullivan pointed in quick succession, it was 0-10 to 0-8 with 51 minutes gone and the match was in the melting pot.

Scores were hard to come by thereafter but Dublin had built up enough of a cushion and ran out worthy victors.

James McCarthy, Jack McCaffrey and Paul Flynn celebrate as Killian Young sits dejected Dublin players celebrate as Killian Young sits dejected Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Paul Flynn, Bernard Brogan (0-1f), Dean Rock (0-2f) 0-2 each, Stephen Cluxton (0-1f), Philip McMahon, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Paddy Andrews, Alan Brogan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kerry: James O’Donoghue 0-3, Paul Geaney, Darran O’Sullivan 0-2 each, Jonathan Lyne, Bryan Sheehan (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Donnchadh Walsh and Jack McCaffrey Kerry's Donnchadh Walsh is challenged by Jack McCaffrey Source: James Crombie/INPHO


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)

5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge-Street)

10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincents)

15. Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunketts/ER)
14. Paddy Andrews (St Brigids)
13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)

25. Kevin McManamon (St Judes) for Rock (half-time)
24. Michael Darragh MacAuley (Ballyboden St-Enda’s) for Bastick (40)
22. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala) for Cooper (48)
26. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams) for McCaffrey (52)
21. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens) for O’Sullivan (60)
18. Alan Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh) for Fenton (66)

Killian Young and Paul Flynn Killian Young and Paul Flynn in battle in today's decider Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)

2. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
3. Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore)
4. Shane Enright (Tarbert)

5. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Killian Young (Renard)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahilly’s)
9. Anthony Maher (Duagh)

12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)
11.  Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)
10. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)

13. Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)

22. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar) for O’Brien (half-time)
20. Bryan Sheehan (St Mary’s) for Buckley (44)
17. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks) for Geaney (50)
23. Paul Galvin (Finuge) for Moran (57)
19. Paul Murphy (Rathmore) for O’Mahony (black card) (58)
21. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahilly’s) for O’Donoghue (60)

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath)

Dominant Kerry storm past Tipperary to retain All-Ireland minor football crown

Veteran Gilligan helps Sixmilebridge book Clare senior hurling final place

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: