Dublin: 9°C Wednesday 26 January 2022

Dublin and Limerick reveal selections for Division 1B decider

There is also plenty action in the National Camogie League on Sunday.

Battling: Dublin and Limerick face off tomorrow night.
Battling: Dublin and Limerick face off tomorrow night.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

DUBLIN AND LIMERICK have both shaken up their starting line-ups for tomorrow night’s Division 1B hurling league final in Thurles.

Limerick had already booked their final berth before last weekend’s draw against Wexford which afforded them the chance to experiment for that game.

Dublin confirmed their passage through to the decider with a win over Carlow in Parnell Park last Sunday.

The crunch game in Semple Stadium will determine which side claims promotion to Division 1A next season.

The winners will also get to look forward to a clash with Tipperary in this year’s Division 1 league semi-final on April 21st.

Dublin manager Anthony Daly has brought defenders Peter Kelly and Michael Carton and midfielder Joey Boland back into his team.

The attacking quartet of David O’Callaghan, Paul Ryan, captain Johnny McCaffrey and Danny Sutcliffe also get the nod to start.

The seven players to lose out are Stephen Hiney, Oisin Gough, Niall McMorrow, Eamonn Dillon, David Treacy, Ryan O’Dwyer and Kevin Byrne.

DUBLIN: Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s); Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields), Paul Schutte (Cuala), Ruairi Trainor (St Vincent’s); Michael Carton (O’Toole’s), Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s); Joey Boland (Na Fianna), Liam Rushe (St Pat’s); Simon Lambert (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Johnny McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields), Danny Sutcliffe (St Judes); David O’Callaghan (St Mark’s), Conor McCormack (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s).

Limerick manager John Allen has also made several switches with Richie McCarthy, Wayne McNamara, Conor Allis and James Ryan the only survivors from last week’s win against Carlow.

Goalkeeper Nicky Quaid is back in action while Stephen Walsh, Tom Condon, Paudie O’Brien and Gavin O’Mahony all return in to take up positions in defence.

Paul Browne returns to midfield to partner James Ryan as Conor Allis moves to wing-forward.

Elsewhere in attack there are starting berths handed to Seamus Hickey, David Breen, Graeme Mulcahy, Declan Hannon and Kevin Downes.

Aaron Murphy, Alan Dempsey, Mark Carmody, Cathal King, Tom Ryan, Shane Dowling, Paudie Ahern, Niall Moran, Sean Tobin, Tommy Quaid and Adrian Breen are the players to make way.

LIMERICK: Nicky Quaid (Effin); Stephen Walsh (Glenroe), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Tom Condon (Knockaderry); Paudie O’Brien (Kilmallock), Wayne McNamara (Adare), Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock); Paul Browne (Bruff), James Ryan (Garryspillane); Conor Allis (Croom), Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher), David Breen (Na Piarsaigh); Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Declan Hannon (Adare), Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh).

The Limerick subs have also been named for Saturday night’s encounter.

Subs: Aaron Murphy (Hospital-Herberstown), Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Mark Carmody (Patrickswell), Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh), Tom Ryan (South Liberties), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Niall Moran (Ahane), Sean Tobin (Murroe-Boher), Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh).

Join TheScore.ie tomorrow evening from Thurles for our live coverage of the meeting of Dublin and Limerick.


Sunday April 6th

National Camogie League Previews

Division One

Kilkenny vs Offaly, Lisdowney, 12pm

Kilkenny will aim to bounce back after their defeat to Cork last weekend. Aoife Neary, Ann Dalton and Katie Power are key performers for the Cats while for Offaly, much will depend on their top forward Elaine Dermody. Kilkenny should bounce back against their Leinster rivals but by the slimmest of margins.

Verdict: Kilkenny

Cork vs Derry, Bray Emmets 1.30pm

Cork have made an impressive defence of their league title and should prove too strong for a young Derry side, on their debut season in the senior league. Briege Corkery, the Mackey twins, Katrina and Pamela, along with Anna Geary provide the backbone of a strong side while Derry will rely upon the McGoldrick sisters, Meadbh and Grainne as well as Karen Kielt.

Verdict: Cork

Division 2

Kildare vs Kilkenny, Ballykelly, 3pm; Cork vs Down, Bray Emmets, 3.15pm; Limerick vs Galway, Mungret, 1pm; Waterford vs Antrim, O’ Toole Park, Crumlin, 2.30pm; Wexford vs Meath, Bellefield, Enniscorthy, 2.30pm.

Division 3

Westmeath vs Armagh Cullion, 1pm; Cill Dara vs Carlow, Ballykelly, 1pm; Tyrone vs Cavan, Healy Park, Omagh 1.15pm.

Watch Cork’s new Antrim recruit in goal-scoring action

Here’s how Twitter reacted to news of Brian Cody’s break from the game

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: