Dublin U21 manager Dessie Farrell.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Farrell makes three changes to Dublin U21 side aiming for fourth successive Leinster crown

Meanwhile, Offaly have stuck with the same 15 players who saw off Laois in the semi-final.

DUBLIN U21 MANAGER Dessie Farrell has made three changes in personnel for tonight’s Leinster decider against Offaly in Portlaoise (7.30pm).

The Dubs are chasing their fourth successive provincial crown at this age-group and are hot favourites to do just that against the Faithful County.

Farrell has brought Shane Clayton, Stephen Smith and Darren Gavin into his starting 15 with Eoin Murchan, Dan O’Brien and Glenn O’Reilly the ones to make way from the side that overcame Longford in the semi-finals.

Cuala hurling star Con O’Callaghan will no doubt be courting plenty of attention tonight having racked up 2-5 (2-2 from play) against Longford last time out but his fellow Dublin senior panellist Colm Basquel once again misses out through injury.

Offaly have named an unchanged side for the clash which is their first U21 Leinster final in a decade, while they last tasted provincial success at this age-group in 1995.

The midlanders overcame Wexford in the quarter-finals before seeing off Laois by the bare minimum in their semi-final two weeks ago.


1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)

2. Darren Byrne (Raheny)
3. Cillian O’Shea (Kilamcud Crokes)
4. Shane Clayton (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

5. Declan Monaghan (Clontarf)
6. Sean McMahon (Raheny)
7. Brian Howard (Raheny)

8. Andy Foley (Clontarf)
9. Darren Gavin (Lucan Sarsfields)

10. Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis)
11. Tom Fox (Kilamcud Crokes)
12. Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna)

13. Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Stephen Smith (Skerries Harps)


1. Barry Rohan (Shannonbridge)

2. Clint Horan (Clodiagh Gaels)
3. David Dempsey (Ballycommon)
4. Colm Doyle (Clara)

5. Adam Mahon (Edenderry)
6. Carl Stewart (Clara)
7. PJ Daly (Cappincur)

8. James Lalor (Raheen)
9. Jordan Hayes (Edenderry)

10. Ciarán Farrell (Edenderry)
11. Paddy Dunican (Shamrocks)
12. Jack Walsh (Gracefield)

13. Ronan McEvoy (Shannonbridge)
14. Ruairi McNamee (Rhode)
15. Shane Tierney (Daingean)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Follow us: the42.ie

60% of Club GAA players reject ‘Super 8′ championship structure

‘He’s a very grounded young lad, I think he just takes one challenge at a time’ – Con’s dual challenge

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.