Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 16°C Tuesday 22 September 2020

St Pat's triumph in Tallaght to book place in the EA Sports Cup final

The Inchicore men now face Limerick.

Sean Boyd, Lee Desmond and Jamie McGrath jump for the ball during tonight;s EA Sports cup semi-final.
Sean Boyd, Lee Desmond and Jamie McGrath jump for the ball during tonight;s EA Sports cup semi-final.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Shamrock Rovers 1

St Patrick’s Athletic 3

DEFENDING CHAMPIONS ST Patrick’s Athletic booked their place in the EA Sports Cup final with a defeat of Dublin rivals Shamrock Rovers tonight.

Shamrock Rovers’ pressure finally paid dividends when Dean Clarke scored for the home side in the 34th minute. Sean Boyd played a pivotal role in the goal’s creation after he won the ball back from Rory Feely before sending it on to Dean Clarke, who showed precision in picking his spot.

The Inchicore men responded well to the goal and 13 minutes later they were rewarded as Darren Dennehy headed the ball past Barry Murphy and into the Rovers net to leave it all square at the break.

After the interval, it was St Pat’s who claimed the advantage in the 58th minute as Jamie McGrath placed the ball in the top corner of the net to give his side the lead after being set up by Lee Desmond.

Gary McCabe and Jamie McGrath Shamrock Rover's Gary McCabe fends off Jamie McGrath of St. Patrick's Athletic during the EA Sports cup semi-final. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

St Pat’s finally made sure of their place in the tournament decider in the 80th minute when Christy Fagan popped up to tap in a goal to make it 3-1 to Liam Buckley’s men.

St Patrick’s Athletic will now get a chance to defend their crown when they face Limerick FC in the EA Sports Cup final

SHAMROCK ROVERS: Barry Murphy, David Webster, David O’Connor. Gavin Brennan (James Doona, 76), Trevor Clarke, Shane Hanney (Simon Madden, 64), Gary McCabe, Pat Cregg (c), Brandon Miele, Sean Boyd, Dean Clarke (Gary Shaw, 64).

ST. PATRICK’S ATHLETIC: Conor O’Malley, Ian Bermingham (c), Darren Dennehy, Lee Desmond, Rory Feely. Christy Fagan, Mark Timlin, Sam Verdon (Graham Kelly, 10), Jamie McGrath, Michael Barker, Stephen Kinsella (Conan Byrne, 76).

Man-of-the-match: Jamie McGrath

Referee: David McKeown

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

[button href=”” label=”Add us:” icon=”url”

Sligo win on Leeside as City miss chance to reel in Dundalk

Ireland U21 star and West Ham midfielder sent out on loan to League One club

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel