Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
32-year-old lock McCarthy will captain Dan McFarland's squad.
32-year-old lock McCarthy will captain Dan McFarland's squad.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Mike McCarthy captains 26-man Emerging Ireland squad for Romania trip

20-year-old Leinster hooker Bryan Byrne has been included in a squad that features six senior internationals.
May 26th 2014, 5:13 PM 10,232 32

LEINSTER LOCK MIKE McCarthy will captain the Emerging Ireland squad to play in the three-game IRB Nations Cup in Romania next month.

The 26-man group also includes senior internationals Tommy O’Donnell, Craig Gilroy, Michael Bent, Ian Keatley and Paul Marshall.

20-year-old hooker Bryan Byrne, who has shown rich promise for Leinster’s ‘A’ side this season, is named among the forwards, with Robin Copeland, Dominic Ryan, David Foley and Rodney Ah You looking like potentially important squad members up front.

JJ Hanrahan and Keatley provide the options at out-half, while Luke McGrath, Andrew Conway, Noel Reid, Michael Allen and Brendan Macken offer attacking ability elsewhere in the backs.

Six of the Emerging Ireland squad that travelled to the Nations Cup last year have been included in the senior trip to Argentina – namely Robbie Diack, Rob Herring, Jack McGrath, Marty Moore, Jordi Murphy and Rhys Ruddock – demonstrating that this selection can offer a stepping stone towards full international honours.

Ed Byrne with brother Bryan Byrne Bryan Byrne, right, is in the Emerging Ireland squad. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

This season’s outfit will be head coached by Connacht’s Dan McFarland, with Ulsterman Neil Doak acting as assistant. Emerging Ireland will play Russia [on the 13th of June], Uruguay [18th June] and Romania [22nd June] in their three Nations Cup fixtures.

“I am looking forward to working with Neil and this exciting group of players in what will be a highly competitive tournament,” said McFarland. “It is a great opportunity for players to showcase their abilities and represent their country.”

Emerging Ireland Squad

Forwards (15):
Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
Rodney Ah You (Buccaneers/Connacht)*
Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster)
Callum Black (Malone/Ulster)*
Paddy Butler (Shannon/Munster)*
Bryan Byrne (Clontarf/Leinster)*
Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues)*
Sean Dougall (Dolphin/ Munster)*
David Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster)*
Mick Kearney (Clontarf/Connacht)*
Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster) (capt.)
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)*
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster)*
James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)*

Backs (11):
Michael Allen (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
Andrew Conway (Blackrock College/Munster)*
Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)
Eoin Griffin (Galwegians/Connacht)*
JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster)*
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
Brendan Macken (Blackrock College/Leinster)*
Paul Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)*
Johne Murphy (Young Munster/Munster)*
Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster)*

* denotes uncapped player

Steffon Armitage named 2014 ERC European Player of the Year

Toulon owner Mourad Boudjellal wants to sign the ‘Fantastic Four’

Send a tip to the author

Murray Kinsella


    Back to top