Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Mercer with loosehead Ben Obano last weekend, who also is among the injury absentees.
Mercer with loosehead Ben Obano last weekend, who also is among the injury absentees.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Bath back row Mercer one of eight uncapped players in Eddie Jones' England squad

The England head coach has a host of injuries and suspensions to big-name players.
Jan 18th 2018, 9:58 AM 4,509 9

ENGLAND HEAD COACH Eddie Jones has included eight uncapped players in his squad for this year’s Six Nations.

The reigning champions have a number of big-name injuries going into the Championship with number eights Billy Vunipola and Nathan Hughes injured, along with Lions back Elliot Daly and suspensions to Joe Marler and James Haskell.

Bath back row Zach Mercer – who captained England U20s to Six Nations success last year – is the beneficiary of the injuries at number eight as he is promoted from the rank of apprentice player.

He joins his club-mate, hooker Tom Dunn, props Alex Hepburn, Lewis Boyce, back row Gary Graham, backs Nathan Earle, Harry Mallinder and Marcus Smith (who continues as an apprentice) among the uncapped contingent.

Eddie Jones Source: James Crombie/INPHO

In all, Jones’ squad is 35-strong and will travel to Portugal next week for a warm-weather training camp before returning to Pennyhill Park to finalise preparations for the Championship opener away to Italy on Sunday 4 February.

“I have selected the strongest available squad,” says Jones.

“It is important we start the tournament well and we will spend the next two weeks training smart and really fine-tuning our game plan for the Italy match next month.

“I am expecting a really positive training camp in Portugal and while we have a few players unavailable through injury or suspension, it has provided opportunity for others who will be desperate to be involved in the Italy game.”

England squad for 2018 Six Nations


Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Nathan Earle (Saracens) *
Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints) *
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
Alex Lozowski (Saracens)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins) *
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)


Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons) *
Nick Isiekwe (Saracens)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby) *
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)
Lewis Boyce (Harlequins) *
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby) *
Jamie George (Saracens)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs) *
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)

(*denotes uncapped at international level)

‘If foreign players have been caught doing that, it is hindering home-grown players who are doing it the right way’

Christians cross five times to exact revenge upon Ard Scoil and reach Munster last eight

Send a tip to the author

Sean Farrell


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top