Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Monday 23 November 2020

Murray, Ringrose and Furlong among six Irish-based nominees for European Player of the Year

Six of the Champions Cup quarter-finalists are represented.

MUNSTER AND LEINSTER have three representatives each in the EPCR shortlist for European Rugby Player of the Year.

Ireland internationals CJ Stander, Garry Ringrose, Tadhg Furlong and Conor Murray are joined on the list by Tyler Bleyendaal and, the oldest of the 15 nominees, Isa Nacewa.

Tyler Bleyendaal Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Outside of the Irish-based contingent, the Champions Cup’s top seeds from the pool stage Clermont Auvergne are represented by Camille Lopez and Noa Nakaitaci.

Glasgow Warriors’ recognition for making the knock-out stage is a nomination for Jonny Gray and Stuart Hogg. Their opposition on 2 April, Saracens, can boast Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje on the shortlist.

Leinster’s Tadhg Furlong is tackled by Munster’s Conor Murray Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

Leinster’s quarter-final opponents Wasps are the third side represented by three players as Elliot Daly, Thomas Young and Joe Launchbury are named. Toulon and Toulouse are the only clubs in the knock-out stage of the tournament with no nominees for the gong.

The award has been claimed by an English player in each of the last four years as Jonny Wilkinson, Steffon Armitage, Nick Abendanon and Maro Itoje joined the honour roll behind Sean O’Brien (2011) and Rob Kearney (2012).

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The judging panel is made up of Stuart Barnes, Mick Cleary, Mathieu Lartot, Emmanuel Massicard Brian O’Driscoll and Dimitri Yachvili.

EPCR European Player of the Year 2017 nominees

Tyler Bleyendaal (Munster Rugby)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby)
Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Camille Lopez (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
Conor Murray (Munster Rugby)
Isa Nacewa (Leinster Rugby)
Noa Nakaitaci (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
Garry Ringrose (Leinster Rugby)
CJ Stander (Munster Rugby)
Thomas Young (Wasps)

Subscribe to The42 Rugby Show podcast here:

Springbok lock Deysel to arrive this week as Munster boosted by return of Irish trio

Watch: Quade Cooper handed three-week ban for this high shot in Super Rugby

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: