This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 17 °C Friday 7 August, 2020

Sepp Blatter will be delighted to learn of this referee's punishment for using video technology

FIFA’s crusade against video technology could get this official into trouble.

FIFA allowed goal-line technology to be brought in during the World Cup.
FIFA allowed goal-line technology to be brought in during the World Cup.

A TOP ARGENTINE referee is facing a ban after scrapping a penalty and a red card after consulting with a linesman alleged to have seen the incident in slow motion on a television screen.

Video replays are not allowed by world soccer’s governing body FIFA and the Argentine Football Association (AFA) will examine the incident on Tuesday.

During an Argentine league clash at the weekend between Velez Sarsfield and Arsenal, match official German Delfino, considered one of South America’s top referees, awarded Velez a penalty and sent off Arsenal defender Daniel Valencia for handling the ball in the box.

However a television replay showed the ball was actually touched by a Velez player and not Valencia.

Delfino, 36, tipped as a refereeing official for the Copa America which begins in June, apologized after the game for initially getting the decision wrong. It did not, however, prevent Velez from winning the match 2-1.

“This type of action is difficult to judge. The refereeing team worked well and justice was done,” said Miguel Scime, head of referee training in the Argentine league.

“Delfino assured me that he didn’t base his decision on the technology but what his assistants’ saw,” said Scime.

“You can’t deliver justice as you want,” said Guillermo Marconi, of the Argentine Referees Union.

“You have to act within the defined rules. I don’t have proof that Delfino based his decision (on the images), but it seems logical.”

Despite being cleared of the handball Colombian defender Valencia was sent off later in the match.

© AFP 2014

The latest Raheem Sterling transfer rumour could be the most ridiculous yet

One of Ireland’s best prospects is set to sign a new deal with a Premier League powerhouse

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:


Read next: