This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Wednesday 19 December, 2018

Dublin and Mayo dominate the 2013 Football AllStars

Seven first-time winners as the 2013 GAA/GPA Football Allstars were announced tonight.

Stephen Cluxton has followed up his All-Ireland win with an AllStar nod.
Stephen Cluxton has followed up his All-Ireland win with an AllStar nod.

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Dublin have won six AllStars in the GAA/GPA end-of-season football awards.

Stephen Cluxton, Rory O’Carroll, Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Darragh Macauley, Paul Flynn and Bernard Brogan were presented with their awards at a star-studded banquet in Croke Park this evening.

Beaten finalists Mayo had four awards with Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle and Aidan O’Shea each getting the nod.

In total there were seven first time winners with Colin Walshe, James O’Donoghue and Conor McManus joining the O’Carroll, O’Sullivan, Boyle and O’Shea as inaugural AllStar recipients.

Colm Cooper’s eighth award now puts him one behind outright leader Pat Spillane in the number of Allstar football awards while Stephen Cluxton and Seán Cavanagh both pick up their fifth. Indeed, the half forward line of Cooper, Cavanagh and Paul Flynn can boast of an incredible combined haul of 16 awards between them.

It’s also the first time since 1988 that Monaghan have two AllStars in the one year, in recognition of their season as Ulster champions.

2013 GAA GPA Allstars sponsored by Opel


1.Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Full backs

2. Colin Walshe (Monaghan)

3. Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)

4. Keith Higgins (Mayo)

Half backs

5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)

6. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

7. Colm Boyle (Mayo)


8. Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

9. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

Half forwards

10. Paul Flynn (Dublin)

11. Colm Cooper (Kerry)

12. Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Full forwards

13. James O’Donoghue (Kerry)

14. Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

15. Conor McManus (Monaghan)

More to follow…

Dessie Farrell pays tribute to Niall Donoghue at GPA AGM

VIDEO: Lar Corbett’s brilliant point from a near impossible angle

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: