This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Monday 17 December, 2018

Dr Crokes and Portumna sent packing plus the rest of today's club GAA results

Eighteen senior county champions were crowned this afternoon.

Colm Cooper of Dr Crokes.
Colm Cooper of Dr Crokes.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO


RATHMORE SHOCKED A fancied Dr Crokes side in today’s Kerry SFC quarter-finals.

Crokes suffered a 2-15 to 1-13 loss at Fitzgerald Stadium, while Kenmare District also booked their semi-final place thanks to a 1-15 to 0-11 defeat of West Kerry.

In the semi-finals, Rathmore will play Killarney Legion next Sunday and Kenmare District will take on South Kerry seven days later.

In Mayo, it’ll be a repeat of the 2013 decider in this year’s SFC final after Castlebar Mitchels and Breaffy were both victorious in today’s semi-finals.

Read: Castlebar Mitchels 4-15 Knockmore 2-12
Read: Breaffy 4-7 Ballintubber 1-12

Crossmaglen Rangers made it 19 Armagh SFC titles in 20 years with a 2-22 to 0-10 hammering of Armagh Harps, while there were also SFC final victories in Ulster for Kingscourt (Cavan), Kilcoo (Down), Derrygonnelly Harps (Fermanagh) and Trillick (Tyrone).

Reigning All-Ireland club champions Corofin defeated Mountbellew-Moylough to win their third consecutive Galway SFC. Elsewhere in Connacht, Curry beat Calry/St Josephs to reach the Sligo SFC final but St Mary’s and Tourlestrane will have to meet again after playing out a draw in the second semi-final.

Matthew Donnelly lifts the cup Matthew Donnelly lifts the cup for new Tyrone champions Trillick. Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO

Read: Corofin 3-13 Mountbellew-Moylough 0-12

In Leinster, Palatine (Carlow), Edenderry (Offaly), St Loman’s (Westmeath) and Rathnew (Wicklow) were all victorious in their respective SFC deciders. Moyle Rovers and Clonmel Commericals will meet in the Tipperary SFC final after both picked up wins today in the last four.


Portumna’s bid to regain the Galway SHC title was ended by Gort today in the quarter-finals. The reigning champions ran out 1-19 to 0-19 winners against the 2013 champions. Craughwell are also through to the semi-finals after a 0-21 to 2-14 triumph against Liam Mellows.

In Dublin, Cuala booked their place in the SHC final after beating Ballyboden St Enda’s by 0-27 to 1-21 in a thriller at Parnell Park. In the quarter-finals, Lucan Sarsfields had a 3-18 to 1-15 victory against O’Toole’s.

It’ll be Oulart The Ballagh versus St Martin’s in the Wexford SHC final following their semi-final wins this afternoon over Faythe Harriers and Glynn-Barntown respectively.

The Ulster SHC semi-finals also took place, with wins for Slaughtneil (Derry) against Ballycran (Down) and Ruairí Óg (Antrim) against Middletown (Armagh).

Brian Cassidy celebrates Brian Cassidy celebrates his goal today for Slaughtneil. Source: Presseye/Kevin Scott/INPHO

Glen Rovers ended a 26-year wait for SHC honours in Cork, Na Piarsaigh regained the Limerick SHC title and Niall Gilligan scored 0-13 as Sixmilebridge won their second Clare SHC title in three years.

Read: Glen Rovers 2-17 Sarsfields 1-13
Read: Na Piarsaigh 1-22 Patrickswell 4-12
Read: Sixmilebridge 1-21 Clonlara 0-15

All-Ireland club champions Ballyhale Shamrocks saw their reign brought to an end by O’Loughlin Gaels, who progressed to the Kilkenny SHC final along with Clara. Ballygunner are also back in the decider in Waterford, and it’ll be a Thurles Sarsfields versus Nenagh Éire Óg final in Tipperary.

Elsewhere, there was also SHC success for Ballyhaunis (Mayo), Calry/St Josephs (Sligo), Ballinamore (Leitrim), Kiltale (Meath) and St Fechin’s (Louth). The Roscommon final between Four Roads (0-16) and Pádraig Pearses (1-13) finished level.

Read: Ballygunner 1-16 Fourmilewater 1-12
Read: O’Loughlin Gaels 2-15 Ballyhale Shamrocks 2-13 & Clara 1-23 Mullinavat 0-14
Read: Thurles Sarsfields 2-20 Kilruane MacDonagh’s 1-17 & Drom & Inch 2-16 Nenagh Éire Óg 1-20

The Kilcoo team celebrate winning The celebrations begin for Kilcoo after they won the Down SFC title. Source: Presseye/Declan Roughan/INPHO


Tyrone SFC final
Killyclogher 0-11 Trillick 1-9

Galway SFC final
Mountbellew/Moylough 0-12 Corofin 3-13

Armagh SFC final
Crossmaglen Rangers 2-22 Armagh Harps 0-10

Down SFC final
Kilcoo 3-10 Castlewellan 0-11

Westmeath SFC final
Castledaly 0-8 St. Loman’s 1-15

Cavan SFC final
Kingscourt 1-9 Castlerahan 0-11

Offaly SFC final
Rhode 1-10 Edenderry 1-12

Fermanagh SFC final
Derrygonnelly Harps 3-16 Roslea Shamrocks 3-7

Wicklow SFC final
Rathnew 3-6 St Patrick’s 0-9

Carlow SFC final
Old Leighlin 2-8 Palatine 2-12

Mayo SFC semi-finals
Castlebar Mitchels 4-15 Knockmore 2-12
Read: Breaffy 4-7 Ballintubber 1-12

Sligo SFC semi-finals
St Mary’s 1-10 Tourlestrane 0-13
Calry/St Josephs 3-7 Curry 2-11

Tipperary SFC semi-finals
Moyle Rovers 2-15 Arravale Rovers 1-14
Clonmel Commercials 0-9 Aherlow Gaels 0-5

Kerry SFC quarter-finals
Rathmore 2-15 Dr Crokes 1-13
Kenmare District 1-15 West Kerry 0-11

Clare SHC final
Sixmilebridge 1-21 Clonlara 0-15

Cork SHC final
Glen Rovers 2-17 Sarsfields 1-13

Cork PIHC final
Newcestown 1-23 Valley Rovers 0-8

Limerick SHC final
Na Piarsaigh 1-22 Patrickswell 4-12

Mayo SHC final
Ballyhaunis 0-20 Tooreen 1-14

Roscommon SHC final
Four Roads 0-16 Pádraig Pearses 1-13

Sligo SHC final
Western Gaels 0-9 Calry/St.Joseph’s 0-10

Leitrim SHC final
Ballinamore 3-10 Carrick 3-9

Meath SHC final
Kiltale 2-15 Kildalkey 0-12

Louth SHC final
Pearse Og 3-11 St Fechin’s 2-20

Ulster SHC semi-finals
Ballycran 0-14 Slaughtneil 2-18
Ruairí Óg 1-17 Middletown 1-9

Kilkenny SHC semi-finals
O’Loughlin Gaels 2-15 Ballyhale Shamrocks 2-13
Clara 1-23 Mullinavat 0-14

Tipperary SHC semi-finals
Thurles Sarsfields 2-20 Kilruane MacDonagh’s 1-17
Drom & Inch 2-16 Nenagh Éire Óg 1-20

Waterford SHC semi-final
Ballygunner 1-16 Fourmilewater 1-12

Dublin SHC semi-final
Cuala 0-27 Ballyboden St Enda’s 1-21

Dublin SHC quarter-final
Lucan Sarsfields 3-18 O’Toole’s 1-15

Wexford SHC semi-finals
Oulart The Ballagh 3-19 Faythe Harriers 2-13
St Martin’s 5-13 Glynn-Barntown 0-13

Galway SHC quarter-finals
Gort 1-19 Portumna 0-19
Craughwell 0-21 Liam Mellows 2-14

Brian O’Sullivan steers Ballygunner back into the Waterford SHC final

Ballyhale’s reign as All-Ireland club champions comes to an end in Kilkenny

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: