Skip to content

McGuinness, Horan and McGeeney - this year's football managerial merry-go-round

We know it can get confusing, so here’s your guide to the managerial ins and outs so far this on the intercounty football scene.
Nov 4th 2014, 10:35 AM 7,649 4


U21 boss Frank Fitzsimons is the county’s new senior football manager after Liam Bradley stepped down after less than a year in charge.  During a previous stint Bradley had steered the county to an Ulster final in 2009.

Frank Fitzsimmons 20/3/2013 Frank Fitzsimmons. Source: Matt Mackey


Former Kildare manager and Armagh captain Kieran McGeeney is the new manager of the Armagh senior footballers. He was handed a five-year term following on from his role in last year’s back room team.

Kieran McGeeney Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


Turlough O’Brien is Carlow’s new football manager, taking over from Anthony Rainbow, who stepped down during the summer after two years in charge. John O’Mahony will act as an advisor to him.


Terry Hyland remains the manager of Cavan after he took the position in 2012, following a stint over the U21 team. He recently added Liam McHale to his backroom team.

Terry Hyland Source: Andrew Paton/INPHO


Colm Collins continues as football manager in Clare, with son Podge fully committing to the cause for his second year in charge. Former Limerick trainer Ephie Fitzgerald will be involved with the Banner next year.

Source: Game of Throw-ins/YouTube


Brian Cuthbert will be into his second season over Cork come the New Year, and he’ll be hoping to improve on their 2014 fortunes.


Last year’s boss Brian McIver remains in place for his third year in charge of the Oak-Leaf county.

Brian McIver addresses the team prior to throw in Source: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO


After Jim McGuinness stepped down, Donegal were on the lookout for a new manager. and they’ve opted for his former assistant Rory Gallagher to replace McGuinness.


Jim Corry has recently been appointed to take over from James McCartan who stepped down after five years in charge.


Jim Gavin will be back again next year aiming for a second All-Ireland in three years.

Source: officialgaa/YouTube


The vastly experienced Pete McGrath is back for another year with Fermanagh and he’s brought in Brian Treacy to join his back room staff.


Kevin Walsh is in as the new Galway manager after Alan Mulholland stepped down. Corofin’s Brian Silke, brother of 1998 All-Ireland winning captain Ray, and Barna’s Sean Conlon will be his selectors. Will he keep the tracksuits on though?


Eamonn Fitzmaurice is back again for his third year over the Kingdom, and no doubt he’s licking his lips with the prospect of ‘Gooch’ and Tommy Walsh returning.

Eamonn Fitzmaurice celebrates with Diarmuid Murphy and Cian O'Neill Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO


Jason Ryan is into his second year over the Lilywhites, the former Wexford boss was involved in the back room team before taking the manager’s position ahead of last season.


Kerry man Tomás Ó Flatharta will be over Laois for a second year in 2015, hoping to build on the promise of the first half performance against Dublin rather than what followed.


Shane Ward has been named as the new Leitrim senior and U21 manager for 2015. He replaces the outgoing Sean Hagan who stepped down from the role after less than a year in charge.

Sean Hagan Source: James Crombie/INPHO


Qualifier wins over London and Antrim were pleasing for John Brudair in his first year in charge and he’s back again next year hoping for more.

John Brudair speaks to his team Source: James Crombie/INPHO


Paul Coggins looks set to stay on for another year over London, although he has yet to confirm his decision after a disappointing 2014.

Source: RTÉ - Ireland's National Television and Radio Broadcaster/YouTube


Jack Sheedy was ratified for a second term over Longford last August and he’ll be hoping to build on the qualifier victory over Derry in the coming year.


Former Armagh All-Ireland winner Aidan O’Rourke stepped down as Louth manager after two years following his team’s 2014 championship exit. Colin Kelly will replace him and he will be assisted by selectors Eugene Judge and Ollie McDonnell for an initial two-year tenure.


Noel Connelly and Pat Holmes will take over from James Horan as the senior county managers. Horan had reached two All-Ireland finals in four years.

Noel Connelly and Pat Holmes 7/5/2006 Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO


Meath manager Mick O’Dowd will stay on for another year, The Skyrne man took over in 2012 and has lost consecutive Leinster finals to Dublin.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


Malachy O’Rourke is set to stay on as manager next year and has had his term extended for the 2016 and 2017 seasons. He took over in 2012 and a year later won the Ulster title.

Source: officialgaa/YouTube

New York

Ian Galvin looks set to remain on as New York football manager – he’ll have to contend without last year’s captain Brendan Quigley though.


The Faithful county were on the search once more for a new manager after Emmett McDonnell stepped down following their qualifier first round defeat to Wicklow last year. Offaly native Pat Flanagan, who has previously taken charge of Sligo and Westmeath, has been appointed to succeed him.


John Evans is staying in charge of Roscommon footballers for 2015 after he finally agreed to extend his term after two years in charge.

John Evans on the pitch before the game Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO


The Sligo county board had to begin their search for a new manager after opting to replace Pat Flanagan after less than a year. Ex-Waterford boss Niall Carew has taken over as the new manager.

Pat Flanagan Pat Flanagan looks set to be on the move again ahead of 2015. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


Peter Creedon has extended his reign as Tipperary football manager into 2015. Creedon’s two-year term did end following the county’s thrilling qualifier defeat to Galway


Mickey Harte will continue for a 13th successive season as Tyrone manager next year, haven taken on an additional three year term in 2012.

Mickey Harte Source: Presseye/Russell Pritchard/INPHO


Niall Carew stepped down as Waterford football manager after a two-year spell and former Tipperary manager Tom McGlinchey has now been installed as the new man in charge.


Paul Bealin’s tenure as Westmeath manager ended recently after just one year in charge of the Lake County. Peter Leahy was proposed as a replacement at a county board meeting but club delegates voted 24-19 against ratifying his candidacy. Tom Cribbin is now the favourite to take over.


The Tipperary All-Ireland winning minor football manager David Power is to become the new Wexford football manager replacing Aidan O’Brien.

David Power dejected Source: James Crombie/INPHO


In August Harry Murphy stepped down as Wicklow senior football manager. Murphy took over from Mick O’Dwyer at the start of 2012. Wicklow have named Johnny Magee as his replacement having been a selector last year.

- This article was first published on October 15th and has been updated with recent managerial changes.

Mayo pitch invading GAA fan hit with ban after All-Ireland semi-final incident

Ex-Limerick senior trainer and Cork minor boss makes the move to Clare senior footballers

Send a tip to the author

Eamon Donoghue


    Back to top