Dublin: 20°C Monday 15 August 2022

Powerful Galway performance to defeat Cork and reach All-Ireland semi against Tipp

Goals from Jonathan Glynn and Conor Whelan helped the Tribesmen triumph.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Galway 2-28
Cork 0-22

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles

GALWAY BROUGHT THEIR All-Ireland quarter-final woes to an end in style today in Semple Stadium as they flattened Cork to book a semi-final date with Tipperary.

Jonathan Glynn struck a wonder goal in the opening minute to get Galway off to an explosive start and teenager Conor Whelan sealed the win by bagging the second goal with five minutes left.

The 50th minute sending-off of Damien Cahalane was a major setback for Cork but in truth they were second best to a Galway team that were in front 1-15 to 0-14 at the interval.

Galway’s shooting left them down at times as they amassed 23 wides with Joe Canning culpable for eight shots off target.

But Galway still had 11 scorers on the day with Cathal Mannion hitting 0-7 and Glynn magnificent throughout.

Daniel Kearney is knocked over by Jonathan Glynn Daniel Kearney is knocked over by Jonathan Glynn. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Glynn’s early goal spurred Galway on as they went ahead 1-5 to 0-4 after 10 minutes. Cork kept in touch throughout the first-half with good scores from Daniel Kearney, Conor Lehane and Seamus Harnedy.

Galway opened up a five-point gap, 1-8 to 0-6, by the 17th minute yet Cork rallied and were only a point adrift, 1-10 to 0-12, when Brian Lawton raised a white flag in the 26th minute.

Joseph Cooney and Johnny Coen celebrate after the game Galway's Joseph Cooney and Johnny Coen celebrate after the game Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

However Galway restored control before the break to move clear by four at the interval and they then stretched their lead to 1-18 to 0-15 by striking three of the first four points in the second-half.

After Cahalane’s dismissal, Cork enjoyed a brief resurgence and Horgan was denied a goal by a superb save from Colm Callanan in the 58th minute. Paudie O’Sullivan struck a point from the rebound to leave Cork facing a 1-20 to 0-19 deficit.

But that was as close as Cork got as the floodgates soon opened. Galway smashed 1-8 in the closing stages with Whelan burying a goal on his championship debut.

Conor Whelang scores a goal despite the efforts of Brian Murphy Conor Whelan strikes home Galway's second goal Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

At the final whistle Galway had stormed 13 points clear and are getting set for a semi-final tussle with Tipperary on 16 August.

Scorers for Galway: Cathal Mannion 0-7, Joe Canning 0-5 (0-2f, 0-1 sideline), Conor Whelan, Jonathan Glynn 1-2 each, Jason Flynn 0-3, Aidan Harte, David Burke, Cyril Donnellan 0-2 each, Andy Smith, Joseph Cooney, Niall Healy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-9 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65), Seamus Harnedy, Conor Lehane 0-3 each, Daniel Kearney 0-2, Aidan Walsh, Cormac Murphy, Paudie O’Sullivan, Alan Cadogan, Brian Lawton 0-1 each.

Anthony Cunningham and Jimmy-Barry Murphy shake hands after the game Galway's Anthony Cunningham and Cork's Jimmy Barry-Murphy after the game Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Colm Callanan (Kinvara)

2. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
3. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle)
4. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

5. Aidan Harte (Gort)
6. Iarla Tannian (Ardrahan)
7. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)

8. Andrew Smith (Portumna)
9. David Burke (St Thomas)

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

10. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
11. Cyril Donnellan (Padraig Pearses)
12. Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan)

13. Jason Flynn (Tommie Larkins)
14. Joe Canning (Portumna)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

17. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields) for David Burke (inj) (half-time)
22. David Collins (Liam Mellowes) for Donnellan (57)
20. Greg Lally (Gort) for Tannian (60)
21. Fergal Moore (Turloughmore) for Smith (64)
24. Niall Healy (Craughwell) for Glynn (67)


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
3. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)
2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)

5. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
9. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)

10. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
11. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
12. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
13. Conor Lehane (Midleton)

25. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum) for Cronin (half-time)
19. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk) for Murphy (44)
24. Alan Cadogan (Douglas) for Lawton (46)
22. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne) for Cooper (55)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

Glory for Waterford against Dublin to set up All-Ireland semi-final with Kilkenny

My word, you need to see this Jonathan Glynn goal after just 48 seconds

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: