Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Friday 16 April 2021

There were as many red cards as there were goals in Galway tonight as Longford struck late

Don Cowan scored deep into stoppage time.

Cowan struck deep into stoppage time for the visitors.
Cowan struck deep into stoppage time for the visitors.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Galway United 1
Longford Town 2

GALWAY UNITED FINISHED with nine men as they fell to defeat against fellow Premier Division new boys Longford Town at Eamonn Deacy Park, with Don Cowan striking a late, late winner.

Jake Keegan gave Tommy Dunne’s side a dream start from close range but Stephen Walsh’s dismissal in the 25th minute complicated matters as Longford struck twice through Gary Shaw and Cowan.

Galway took the lead in the 5th minute but just 20 minutes later, found themselves a man down as Walsh tangled with Shaw.

From there, Longford failed to fashion anything of note until Cowan’s long ball into a crowded box found Shaw but his glancing header floated harmlessly wide.

Towards the end of the first half, a Conor Powell cross undid Galway’s hard work as it found the lurking Shaw who tucked it home from six yards out.

Camped outside Conor Winn’s goal following the restart, The Town endeavoured to make the home side work, with Cowan a persistent nuisance to Colm Horgan down the right flank.

Galway, too, looked dangerous as the match wore on. In the 80th minute, they nearly snatched the three points when Padraic Cunningham’s deft effort was palmed away to safety by Paul Hunt.

Putting every man behind the ball, Dunne’s charges were forced to scrap for every loose ball as last season’s First Division champions eventually found the breakthrough in the final seconds of the match.

That wasn’t the end of the action, however. Sam Oji received his marching orders, the second time in as many games, while substitute Pat Flynn also saw red for the visitors.

GALWAY UNITED: Conor Winn, Alex Byrne, Sam Oji (c), Stephen Walsh, Colm Horgan, Andy O’ Connell, Jason Molloy (Kevin Garcia 65), David O’ Leary, Gary Shanahan, Jake Keegan (Padraic Cunningham 65), Enda Curran (Paul Sinnott 83).

LONGFORD TOWN: Paul Hunt, Conor Powell, William Tyrell (Mark Salmon 79), Pat Flynn, Stephen Rice (c), Lorcan Shannon (Martin Deady 55), Don Cowan, Gary Shaw, Kevin O’ Connor, Pat Sullivan, David O’ Sullivan.

Man-of-the-match: Don Cowan

Referee: Adriano Reale

Rovers left to rue missed chances in Tallaght stalemate

Can anyone stop Dundalk? Defending champions swat Sligo aside on landmark evening

About the author:

Trevor Murray

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel