This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 21 °C Wednesday 12 August, 2020

Donoghue rings changes for Galway's championship opener

A win against Westmeath would secure the Tribesmen a Leinster semi-final spot in two weeks’ time.

Galway boss Micheál Donoghue.
Galway boss Micheál Donoghue.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

MICHEÁL DONOGHUE HAS made seven changes to his Galway side for their championship bow against Westmeath in Mullingar on Sunday (throw-in 3.30pm).

Donoghue has completely reworked his defence from their disappointing outing last time out when a three-point defeat to Cork in Pearse Stadium on 3 April saw them relegated from Division 1 of the league.

Colm Callanan will start between the sticks in the Leinster quarter-final clash behind a full-back line made up of Johnny Coen, John Hanbury and Fergal Moore, with Hanbury the only defender keeping his spot from their last outing.

Padraig Mannion, Daithí Burke and Aidan Harte will make up the half-back line while David Burke will captain the side from midfield, where he partners Davy Glennon.

Shane Maloney and Joseph Cooney come into the half-forward line where they will join talisman Joe Canning.

The full-forward line that registered just four points from Galway’s 0-25 against Cork is retained with Conor Whelan, Cathal Mannion and Jason Flynn selected once again.

Galway team (v Westmeath)

1. Colm Callanan (Kinvara)

2. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
3. John Hanbury (Rahoon Newcastle)
4. Fergal Moore (Turloughmore)

5. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
6. Daithí Burke  (Turloughmore)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. David Burke (c) (St Thomas)
9. Davy Glennon (Mullagh)

10. Shane Maloney (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry)
11. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
12. Joe Canning (Portumna)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
14. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
15. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkins)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

We’ll Leave It There So: Firm backing for Keane criticism and all today’s sport

19 counties will have an interest in the All-Ireland football qualifier draw next Tuesday

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: