This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 12 August, 2020

Huge boost for Ulster as Ireland's Iain Henderson returns in back row

The 23-year-od starts against Saracens tomorrow night in Belfast.

ULSTER HAVE BEEN handed a huge boost ahead of tomorrow night’s Champions Cup clash with Saracens at Kingspan Stadium (KO 7.45pm, BT Sport Europe) with the return to fitness of Ireland international Iain Henderson.

The 23-year-old has been named at blindside flanker in a back row that also includes Chris Henry and Nick Williams.

IrelandÕs Iain Henderson Henderson starts at 6. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

Henderson has been sidelined since Ireland’s World Cup exit against Argentina due to a hand injury that required surgery, but his recovery is timely as Ulster host Premiership champions Saracens.

Rory Best captains the Ulster team in a front row that also sees Callum Black and Wiehann Herbst start, while Dan Tuohy and Franco van der Merwe make up the lock pairing.

Ireland internationals Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy and Paddy Jackson are named in a backline that also includes the exciting Stuart McCloskey at inside centre and Springbok scrum-half Ruan Pienaar.

Ulster did not play last weekend after their meeting with Oyonnax in France was postponed at a very late stage due to the terrorist attacks in Paris the night before.

Meanwhile, Mark McCall’s Saracens have named a very strong starting XV that includes England internationals Alex Goode, Owen Farrell, Billy Vunipola, Chris Ashton, Brad Barritt, Mako Vunipola and the hugely promising lock Maro Itoje.


15. Louis Ludik
14. Andrew Trimble
13. Darren Cave
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Craig Gilroy
10. Paddy Jackson
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Callum Black
2. Rory Best (captain)
3. Wiehann Herbst
4. Dan Tuohy
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Iain Henderson
7. Chris Henry
8. Nick Williams


16. Rob Herring
17. Kyle McCall
18. Ricky Lutton
19. Robbie Diack
20. Roger Wilson
21. Paul Marshall
22. Ian Humphreys
23. Peter Nelson


15. Alex Goode
14. Chris Ashton
13. Duncan Taylor
12. Brad Barritt
11. Chris Wyles
10. Owen Farrell
9. Richard Wigglesworth

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Schalk Brits
3. Petrus du Plessis
4. George Kruis
5. Maro Itoje
6. Michael Rhodes
7. Jacques Burger
8. Billy Vunipola


16. Jamie George
17. Rhys Gill
18. Juan Figallo
19. Alistair Hargreaves
20. Jackson Wray
21. Neil de Kock
22. Charlie Hodgson
23. Marcelo Bosch

‘It wasn’t good enough’ – Nacewa dismisses talk of Leinster RWC hangovers

Richie McCaw – a brilliant career in numbers

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: