Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Friday 25 September 2020

8-goal thriller sees Imokilly earn spot in Cork SHC final

They will meet Blackrock in a repeat of their 2001 meeting after overcoming Sarsfields.

Cork hurler Séamus Harnedy was on target tonight.
Cork hurler Séamus Harnedy was on target tonight.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Imokilly 4-17

Sarsfields 4-10

THE CORK SHC final will be a repeat of the 2001 meeting of Blackrock and Imokilly after the East Cork divisional side defeated Sarsfields in their semi-final replay at Páirc Uí Rinn on Saturday night.

A good start and a good finish to the second half were key for Imokilly. Trailing by a point, 1-8 to 1-7, at half-time, they firmly seized the momentum as goals from Paudie O’Sullivan and Séamus Harnedy — both of whom finished with 2-3 — put them 3-9 to 1-7 in front within seven minutes of the resumption.

Sars weren’t done though and sub Liam Healy’s goal gave them hope. Even when Harnedy got his second goal, Sars kept alive their hopes of an eighth final in 10 years as Eoin O’Sullivan netted before a delivery into the goalmouth by goalkeeper Alan Kennedy went all the way to the net.

That brought them back to two points, 4-12 to 4-10, but it was their last score as Imokilly pushed on impressively once more.

The division had begun well as O’Sullivan netted and they were 1-2 to 0-3 in front before a freak own goal by full-back Colm Barry — his handpass going over goalkeeper Declan Dalton’s head — put Sars in front.

They held that lead until half-time but it was never more than two points and Imokilly’s strong response after the interval put them in control.

Scorers for Imokilly: Paudie O’Sullivan, Séamus Harnedy 2-3 each, Brian Lawton, William Leahy (0-2 frees) 0-3, John Cronin, Mark O’Keeffe, Ger Millerick, Declan Dalton (65), Daniel Mangan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Sarsfields: Aaron Myers 0-4 (frees), Eoin O’Sullivan, Alan Kennedy, Liam Healy, own goal 1-0 each, Tadhg Óg Murphy, Jack O’Connor 0-2 each, Daniel Roche, Gavin O’Loughlin, 0-1 each.


1. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)

2. Barra Ó Tuama (Castlemartyr)
3. Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
4. Kieran Histon (Cobh)

5. Ciarán O’Brien (St Ita’s)
6. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)
7. John Cronin (Lisgood)

8. Mark O’Keeffe (Fr O’Neills)
20. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills)

10. William Leahy (Aghada)
9. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
12. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)

11. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
14. Ian Cahill (Cloyne)
15. Cian Fleming (Aghada)


21. Liam O’Shea (Lisgood) for Ó Tuama (13-21, blood)
25. Daniel Mangan (St Catherine’s) for Cahill (half-time)
19. Brian Mulcahy (St Catherine’s) for Leahy (51)


1. Alan Kennedy

2. William Kearney
3. Craig Leahy
6. Conor O’Sullivan

5. Eoghan Murphy
4. Paul Leopold
7. Garry Grey

23. Eoin O’Sullivan
11. Daniel Kearney

15. Tadhg Óg Murphy
9. Daniel Roche
10. Eoin Quigley

12. Aaron Myers
26. Gavin O’Loughlin
13. Jack O’Connor


24. Liam Healy for O’Connor (40, blood)
28. Luke Hackett for Roche (45)
19. Ray Ryan for Grey (49)
14. Cormac Duggan for Eoin O’Sullivan (54)
25. James Sweeney for Quigley (60)

Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Éire Óg)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Reigning champions St Vincent’s fire four goals as late surge sinks 13-man St Jude’s>

Breathless finish sees Simonstown Gaels into Meath SFC final at expense of neighbours Wolfe Tones>


About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel