Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 30 November 2021

The Barbarians have drafted in a Leinster legend to face Ireland

Nathan Hines has been called in at the last minute.

THE BARBARIANS HAVE been forced into a late change to their squad to face Joe Schmidt’s Ireland tomorrow in Thomond Park, meaning a Leinster legend will play in Limerick.

Nathan Hines Hines with the Baa-Baas at Thomond Park. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The withdrawal of the Panasonic Wild Knight’s George Whitelock sees Nathan Hines drafted onto the Baa-Baas bench as a late replacement.

Hines is retiring from playing this summer at the age of 38, but has opted to take up the Barbarians’ offer of a final week of professional rugby before moving into a new role as part of the Scotland coaching team under Vern Cotter.

Hines won a Heineken Cup with Leinster in 2011, scoring a try in the remarkable final comeback against Northampton, before heading to Clermont for three seasons and then on to Sale Sharks for his final campaign.

Nathan Hines and Shane Jennings The Barbarians had their captain's run this morning. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The second row is remembered fondly by Leinster fans and is sure to get a hearty welcome from a strong portion of the crowd at Thomond Park.

Revised Barbarians squad v Ireland:

15. Zane Kirchner (Leinster & South Africa)
14. Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues & Wales)
13. Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand)
12. Wynand Olivier (Montpellier & South Africa)
11. David Smith (Toulon)
10. Jimmy Gopperth (Leinster)
9. Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa)

1. Roberto Tejerizo (Tucuman & Argentina)
2. Deon Fourie (Lyon)
3. Adam Jones (Cardiff Blues & Wales)
4. Rodrigo Capo Ortega (Castres & Uruguay)
5. Konstantin Mikautadze (Toulon & Georgia)
6. Shane Jennings (Leinster & Ireland, Captain)
7. Gerhard Vosloo (Toulon)
8. Ryu Koliniasi Holani (Panasonic Wild Knights & Japan)


16. David Ward (Harlequins)
17. Saimone Taumoepeau (Castres & New Zealand)
18. Matias Diaz (Pampas & Argentina)
19. Nathan Hines (Sale Sharks & Scotland)
20. George Smith (Lyon & Australia)
21. Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Ath & Argentina)
22. Tusi Pisi (Suntory Sungoliath & Samoa)
23. Gio Aplon (Grenoble & South Africa)

Munster confident out-half Ian Keatley will step up in Pro12 finale

‘This one hurts the most’ – Pienaar on Ulster’s latest play-off upset

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: