This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 16 June, 2019

McCarthy and Keogh ruled out as O'Neill cuts his World Cup play-off squad

Preparations for Denmark begin this afternoon out in Abbotstown.

McCarthy and Keogh have both been ruled out through injury.
McCarthy and Keogh have both been ruled out through injury.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

AS IRELAND BEGIN their preparations for Saturday’s World Cup play-off first leg against Denmark, Martin O’Neill has confirmed the loss of Richard Keogh and James McCarthy through injury.

The Ireland manager has this afternoon finalised his squad for the winner-takes-all tie with Keogh (groin) and McCarthy (hamstring) joining Sean Maguire and Jon Walters on the injured list.

David Meyler, meanwhile, is suspended for Saturday’s first leg in Copenhagen but is included in the 27-player panel which has reported for duty at FAI headquarters in Abbotstown today.

Keogh limped out of Derby County’s home defeat to Reading at the weekend and has been ruled out of the back-to-back games while McCarthy’s injury hell continues after he suffered another setback.

Preston forward Maguire was ruled out for three to four months on Saturday after undergoing surgery on a hamstring problem, with Ipswich striker David McGoldrick — who was in the original squad — now on standby.

Alan Browne, Daryl Horgan and Jonny Hayes have all also been left out.

O’Neill’s squad will this afternoon go through the first of four sessions before departing for Copenhagen on Saturday. The first leg takes place at the Parken Stadium before the sides meet again at the Aviva Stadium on Tuesday 14 November.

Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Colin Doyle (Bradford City).

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Paul McShane (Reading), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley).

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), David Meyler (Hull City), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion).

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall).

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Pirlo calls it a day after World Cup, Champions League and Serie A-winning career

Rangers and Scotland striker handed Ireland U18 call-up

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel