Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member

Ireland edged out by French in fifth-placed play-off at Junior World Cup

Disappointment for the Irish.
Jun 18th 2013, 10:48 PM 3,362 9

IRELAND’S U-20s WERE pipped 9-8 by their French counterparts in their fifth/eighth place play-off tonight.

Les Bleus’ Baptiste Serin kicked all the points for his side at the Stade Henri Desgrange, La Roche-sur-Yon.

Ryan Murphy scored the Irish try with Rory Scannell tacking on a penalty.  Peter Dooley was stretchered off in the first half but there has been no news of the extent of the injury yet.

FRANCE U-20: Teddy Thomas (Biarritz Olympique); Maxime Wieprecht (Clermont Auvergne), Florian Vialelle (Castres Olympique), Francois Bouvier (Toulouse), William Thomas (Toulouse); Enzo Selponi (Montpellier), Baptiste Serin (Bordeaux-Begles); Cyril Baille (Toulouse), Romain Ruffenach (Biarritz Olympique), Khatchik Vartanov (Racing Metro 92), Paul Jedrasiak (Clermont Auvergne) (capt), Johan Aliouat (Montpellier), Yacouba Camara (Massy Essonne), Francois Cros (Toulouse), Mathieu Babillot (Castres Olympique).

Replacements: Romain Hollet (Perpignan), Alexis Valette (Racing Metro 92), Oleg Ishchenko (Montpellier), Leo Bastien (Agen), Alban Placines (Biarritz Olympique), Bastien Duhalde (Bayonne), Julien Heriteau (Agen), Stephen Parez (Racing Metro 92).

IRELAND U-20: Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster); Darren Sweetnam (UCC/Munster), Thomas Farrell (Lansdowne/Leinster), Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster), Alex Wootton (Northampton Saints/Exile); Steve Crosbie (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) (capt); Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster), Bryan Byrne (UCD/Leinster), Christopher Taylor (Malone/Ulster), Sean McCarthy (Shannon/Munster), John Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Conor Joyce (Malone/Ulster), Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster), Ryan Murphy (Dolphin/Munster).

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Replacements: George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons/Exile), Edward Byrne (UCD/Leinster), Adam Boland (Lansdowne/Connacht), Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster), Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster), David Shanahan (Clontarf/Leinster), Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Connacht), David Panter (Corinthians/Connacht).

Referee: Andrew Lees (Australia)

More to follow

Best pics: Lions hit a speedbump in Brumbies defeat

The winners and losers from the Lions’ defeat to the Brumbies

Send a tip to the author

TheScore Team


    Back to top