Skip to content
Caelan Doris is among the players who return to the team.
Caelan Doris is among the players who return to the team.
Image: Archil Gegenava/INPHO

Injury-ravaged Ireland make 13 changes for U20 World Championship play-off

After three pool defeats, Ireland contest the ninth place semi-final tomorrow.
Jun 12th 2017, 12:42 PM 6,469 1

IRELAND HEAD COACH Peter Malone has named his team for Tuesday’s U20 World Championship ninth place semi-final against Samoa in Tbilisi, making 13 changes from the heavy defeat to New Zealand.

Five members of the squad were forced to return home due to injury after last week’s game with Malone’s resources now severely depleted ahead of tomorrow’s play-off game.

Only Alan Tyan and Michael Silvester have retained their starting places from the All Blacks game, with captain Paul Boyle, Munster’s Fineen Wycherley and the centre pairing of Ciaran Frawley and Gavin Mullin returning.

Instonians wing Mark Keane, who joined the squad over the weekend as an injury replacement, could win his first cap at this level off the bench.

After losing all three of their Pool B games — there were also defeats to Scotland and Italy — the best Ireland can now hope for is a ninth-place finish in the 12-team tournament.

“Things didn’t go to plan in the pool stages, but now it’s about digging deep and looking to get a result against Samoa,” Malone said.

“That’s not going to be easy as they caused problems for their opposition throughout their pool games and we know they’re going to be very physical.

“The players know what lies ahead tomorrow and they’re very focused, and really up for this game.”

Ireland (v Samoa):

15. Alan Tynan (Young Munster/ Munster)
14. Michael Silvester (Dublin University/Leinster
13. Gavin Mullin (UCD/ Leinster)
12. Ciaran Frawley (UCD/ Leinster)
11. Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster)
10. Conor Dean (St. Mary’s/ Leinster)
9. Jack Stafford (Shannon/ Munster)

1. Jordan Duggan (Naas/Leinster)
2. Ronan Kelleher (UCD/ Leinster)
3. Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
4. Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster/ Munster)
5. Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne/Leinster)
6. Gavin Coombes (Young Munster/ Munster)
7. Paul Boyle (Lansdowne/Leinster) (7) Captain
8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)


16. Adam Moloney (Shannon/Munster)
17. Joey Conway (UL Bohs/Munster)
18. Charlie Connolly (Dublin University/Leinster)
19. Jack Regan (UCD/ Leinster)
20. John Foley (Shannon/Munster)
21. Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University/ Ulster)
22. David McCarthy (Garryowen/Munster)
23. Mark Keane (Instonians/Ulster)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Extra capacity added after ‘unprecedented demand’ for Women’s Rugby World Cup tickets

Letter from New Zealand: The world’s steepest street and a rugby debut

Send a tip to the author

Ryan Bailey


    Back to top