This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2019

10 players set for Six Nations debut in Ireland's first game of Championship defence

Tom Tierney’s side face Wales on Saturday.

Niamh Briggs captains the side.
Niamh Briggs captains the side.
Image: Craig Thomas/INPHO

IRELAND WOMEN’S COACH Tom Tierney has named his team for Saturday’s opening Six Nations game against Wales, with three uncapped players set to make their debuts.

Elise O’Byrne-White and hooker Zoe Grattage will pull on the green jersey for the first time while Ciara Griffin could make her bow from the bench.

In all, there are 10 players who will be involved in a Six Nations game for the first time as Tierney opts to give a crop of new players their chance at the start of the campaign.

The ever-present Niamh Briggs captains the side from fullback but there is no place for experienced back Nora Stapleton, who must settle for a place on the bench at Donnybrook.

“It’s very exciting to have so many new players involved in their first Six Nations game,” Tierney said.

“With some of the girls from last year’s campaign involved with the Sevens at the moment, as well as some retirements over the past few seasons, it gives others the opportunity to pull on the green jersey.

“We’re now at a stage where we are developing more and more girls who are capable at competing at international level and it’s a great to see.”

Ireland are the defending Six Nations champions and have won the title twice in the last three seasons.

Kick-off on Saturday is at 1pm and the game is being streamed on RTÉ’s website, while tickets are still available online.

Ireland Women (v Wales):

15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians / Munster) 
14. Elise O’Byrne-White (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
13. Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara / Leinster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians / Connacht)
11. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)
10. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union / Ulster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)
1. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
2. Zoe Grattage (Tralee / Munster)
3. Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians / Connacht)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
5. Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
6. Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8. Heather O’Brien (Toulouse)


16. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union / Leinster)
17. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union / Leinster)
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians / Munster)
19. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union / Leinster)
20. Ciara Griffin (Tralee / Munster)
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians / Connacht)
22. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
23. Jackie Shiels (Richmond)

The story of BOD beating up Austin Healey on a Lions trip the highlight of OTB’s roadshow

Cotter sticks with Scotland’s World Cup troops for Six Nations opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: