Skip to content
Image: Lynne Sladky/AP/Press Association Images

It's official: LeBron is league's MVP (again)

The Miami-based marketing entity is one of only eight players to win the award at least three times.
May 12th 2012, 7:11 PM 323 0

LeBRON JAMES HAS been voted the NBA’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) for the third time.

The Miami Heat forward becomes the eighth player in league history to win the award three times. The league made the announcement Saturday, shortly before James was to appear at a news conference in Miami to discuss the award.

Commissioner David Stern will present James with the trophy Sunday afternoon before Miami faces Indiana in Game 1 of an Eastern Conference semifinal series.

The other winners of at least three MVP awards are Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Michael Jordan, Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Larry Bird, Magic Johnson and Moses Malone.

What makes an MVP? Moments like this:

– AP reporters contributed to this article

Newcastle boss fears losing his stars in the summer

Tiralongo wins trek to the top in stage 7

Send a tip to the author

Associated Press


    Back to top