Skip to content
JD Devaney hit another
JD Devaney hit another
Image: INPHO

Another late goal from Borris-Ileigh forward wins Tipperary derby in Dr Harty Cup

The All-Ireland club finalist scored the match-winning goal today for Our Lady’s Templemore.
Jan 8th 2020, 3:29 PM 13,931 2

Our Lady’s (Templemore) 1-17
Thurles CBS 0-19

Michael Dundon reports from The Ragg

BORRIS-ILEIGH TEENAGER James ‘JD’ Devaney was the toast of Our Lady’s Templemore with a goal deep in injury time that gave his side victory over Thurles CBS in a thrilling Dr Harty Cup quarter-final at The Ragg today.

After his late goal sealed his club’s victory in last Sunday’s All-Ireland senior club semi-final, Devaney was back in schools action today for Our Lady’s Templemore along with his Borris-Ileigh team-mate Kevin Maher.

The Templemore lads had made the running most of the way in a tight encounter and led at half-timed 0-11 to 0-10. The were two ahead with three minutes to play but two Devon Ryan pointed frees levelled for Thurles.

Thurles jumped ahead with a Frank Hanafin point in injury time, a margin doubled by Stephen Ferncombe’s effort from the puck-out. With defeat staring them in the face, Devaney who had had a quiet game, came to Templemore’s rescue, as he won a clearance by club colleague Maher, and broke through two tackles before planting the ball in the net for a dramatic winner.

Thurles had two chances to level but were off target leaving Our Lady’s the narrowest of winners to set up a semi-final against Clare side St Flannan’s. Before then Devaney and Maher have a Croke Park All-Ireland final to look forward to on Sunday week against Ballyhale Shamrocks with Borris-Ileigh.

kevin-maher-celebrates-scoring-a-point Kevin Maher impressed for Our Lady's Templemore today. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

While Devaney’s goal was the talking point, the performances of Maher, Cian O’Dwyer, Kenny Ryan, Eddie Ryan and Lorcan Roche were huge factors in the win.

For Thurles, Frank Hanafin, James Armstrong, Jack Morrissey, Max Hackett, Devon Ryan and Eoin Purcell did most.

Scorers for Our Lady’s: James Devaney 1-4 (0-4f), Kevin Maher (0-3f), Eddie Ryan 0-3 each, Kenny Ryan, Ciaran McCormack 0-2 each, Tony Cahill, John Campion, James Corcoran 0-1 each.

Scorers for Thurles CBS: Devon Ryan 0-9 (0-8f), Max Hackett 0-3, Eoin Purcell 0-2, Frank Hanafin, Paddy Creedon, Jack Leamy, Jack Morrissey, Stephen Ferncombe 0-1 each.

Our Lady’s Templemore

1. Paddy Hassett (Rathdowney-Errill)

2. Shane Lowe (Moyne-Templetuohy)
3. Lorcan Roche (JK Brackens)
4. Henry Fogarty (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. James Corcoran (JK Brackens)
6. Kevin Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
7. Cian O’Dwyer (Clonakenny)

8. Conor Cadell (JK Brackens)
9. John Campion (Drom-Inch)

10. Ciaran McCormack (Loughmore-Castleiney)
11. Kenny Ryan (Toomevara)
12. Eddie Ryan (Borris-Ileigh)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

13. James ‘JD’ Devaney (Borris-Iliegh)
14. Tony Cahill (Drom-Inch)
15. Paudie Kinane (Drom-Inch)


19. Ben Stapleton (Drom-Inch) for Cahill (50)
18. Darragh Kennedy (Drom-Inch) for Kinnane (57)

Thurles CBS

1. Jason O Dwyer (Clonoulty-Rossmore)

2. Martin Paul O’Dwyer (Boherlahan-Dualla)
3. Frankie Hanafin (Holycross-Ballycahill)
4. James  Armstrong (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane)
6. Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris)
7. Ciarán Lloyd (Moyne-Templetuohy)

8. Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris)
9. Jack Morrissey  (Moycarkey-Borris)

10. Jack Leamy (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Devon Ryan (Knockavilla Kickhams)
12. Eoin Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields)

13. Paddy Creedon (Thurles Sarsfields)
14. Darren Flood (Moycarkey-Borris)
15. Jack Lee (Roscrea)


17. Jack Lillis (Drom-Inch) for Lee (43)
25. Stephen Ferncombe (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Leamy (49)
18. Kieran Larkin (Moyne-Templetuohy) for Flood (52)
20. Luke Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane) for Lloyd (54)
19. Pat Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane) for Creedon (60)

Referee: M Sexton (Limerick)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Send a tip to the author

Michael Dundon


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top