Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
James Owens was in charge of the game between Limerick and Cork in June.
James Owens was in charge of the game between Limerick and Cork in June.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Wexford's Owens to take charge of Limerick-Galway All-Ireland hurling final

Owens was in charge for the 2015 decider between Kilkenny and Galway.
Aug 7th 2018, 5:24 PM 9,532 35

THE GAA HAVE announced that Wexford official James Owens will be the referee for this year’s All-Ireland senior hurling final on Sunday 19 August.

Owens will take charge of the clash between Galway and Limerick in Croke Park, in what will be his second All-Ireland final having previously officiated in 2015 between Galway and Kilkenny.

Askamore club man Owens has previously been referee for the 2007 All-Ireland minor final, the 2008 All-Ireland U21 final and the 2015 All-Ireland club decider.

Owens has been involved in games this summer involving both Galway and Limerick. He took charge of Galway’s drawn semi-final with Clare, along with their Leinster final replay success over Kilkenny. Earlier in the summer, Owens was at the helm for Limerick’s games in Munster against Cork and Clare.

Tipperary’s Fergal Horgan will be the standby referee with Kilkenny’s Sean Cleere the linesman and Carlow’s Patrick Murphy the sideline official.

His umpires on the day will be James Dunbar and David Owens (both Askamore), Joe Kelly (Naomh Éanna) and Ian Plunkett (Marshalstown).

Johnny Murphy from Limerick will officiate in the All-Ireland minor hurling showdown between Galway and Kilkenny. Cork’s Diarmuid Kirwan will be the standby referee, the other linesman is Sean Stack (Dublin) and the sideline ffficial will be Thomas Walsh (Waterford).

His umpires on the day will be Mike Meade, James Hickey, Jimmy Barry-Murphy and
Kieran O’Callaghan (all Ballylanders).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top