This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Tuesday 20 November, 2018

Kerry comeback to beat Carlow in Division 2A final

The Kingdom came from six points down to stun their opponents in dramatic fashion.

Shane Nolan was on target for Kerry (file pic).
Shane Nolan was on target for Kerry (file pic).
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Updated at 20.21

Allianz Hurling League Division 2A final

Carlow 3-13

Kerry 3-16

EAMONN KELLY’S KERRY have given themselves a crack at promotion to Division 1B of the Allianz Hurling League.

The Kingdom came from six points down to stun Carlow in a thrilling Division 2A final at Semple Stadium this afternoon.

Second-half goals from Colm Harty, John Egan and Shane Nolan, from a penalty, secured a three-point victory for Kerry in front of just 1021 spectators in Thurles.

Carlow led by 3-6 to 0-9 at half-time, thanks in main to Marty Kavanagh’s first-half brace of goals and another from Denis Murphy, one of six Mount Leinster Rangers players named on John Meyler’s starting team.

The first of Kavanagh’s two clinical goals was the opening score of the game in the fourth minute but Kerry were level by the 11th minute at 0-4 to 1-1.

In the 15th minute, Carlow struck for a second goal when Denis Murphy latched onto Sean Murphy’s ball to touch the sliotar home brilliantly past Tadhg Flynn.

And they added a third four minutes later when Kavanagh lashed a low drive into Flynn’s left hand corner.

That hat-trick of first-half goals handed the Barrowsiders the initiative at the break but Kerry came storming back.

Kelly’s men hung on grimly at the death as Denis Murphy saw his 69th minute penalty saved.

And Kerry will now play Offaly next Sunday for the right to play Division 1B hurling in 2015.

Scorers for Carlow: Denis Murphy 1-5 (0-4f), Marty Kavanagh 2-1, Eddie Byrne 0-2, Alan Corcoran, David English (f), Sean Murphy, James Doyle & Ross Smithers 0-1 each.
Scorers for Kerry: Shane Nolan 1-6 (1-0 pen, 0-4f), Colm Harty 1-2, John Egan 1-1, Padraig Boyle & David Butler 0-2 each, Darren Dineen 0-1 (sl), Darragh O’Connell & Daniel Collins 0-1 each.

CARLOW: Brian Treacy (Naomh Eoin); Gary Kelly (Mount Leinster Rangers), Paul Doyle (St Mullins), Alan Corcoran (Erin’s Own); Hugh Patrick O’Byrne (Mount Leinster Rangers), Richard Coady (Mount Leinster Rangers), David English (Ballinkillen); Jack Kavanagh (St Mullins), Diarmuid Byrne (Mount Leinster Rangers); Sean Murphy (Ballinkillen), Mark Brennan (Naomh Bríd), Shane Kavanagh (Naomh Eoin); Marty Kavanagh (St Mullins), Eddie Byrne (Mount Leinster Rangers), Denis Murphy (Mount Leinster Rangers).

Subs: James Doyle (St Mullins) for Brennan (48), Ross Smithers (Naomh Eoin) for Shane Kavanagh (53).

KERRY: Tadhg Flynn (Causeway); Bryan Murphy (Causeway), Tom Murnane (Kilmoyley), Keith Carmody (Causeway); Sean Weir (Crotaa O’Neills), Darren Dineen (St Brendan’s), Darragh O’Connell (Abbeydorney); John Griffin (Lixnaw), John Egan (Ardfert); Mikey Boyle (Ballyduff), Daniel Collins (Kilmoyley), Colm Harty (Causeway); David Butler (Knockavilla Kickhams), Padraig Boyle (Ballyduff), Shane Nolan (Crotta O’Neill’s), Brendan O’Leary (Abbeydorney) for Padraig Boyle (67), Aidan Boyle (Ballyduff) for Mikey Boyle (70).

Subs: Thomas Casey (Causeway for Carmody (26), Brendan Brosnan (Lixnaw) for Griffin (54), Brendan O’Leary (Abbeydorney) for Padraig Boyle (67), Aidan Boyle (Ballyduff) for Mikey Boyle (70).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

Allianz NHL Division 3A Final

  • Donegal 4-12 v Roscommon 2-14 

Allianz NHL Division 3B Final

  • Tyrone 0-13 v Leitrim 1-9 

Early goals and clinical Connolly send Dublin into Division 1 semi-finals>

Donegal and Monaghan to meet in Division 2 final but Armagh are relegated>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel