Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member

Senior defender and All-Ireland club winner return as Kerry make 4 changes for Munster U21 final

Kerry travel to Páirc Uí Rinn on Wednesday night to face Cork.
Mar 27th 2017, 5:58 PM 9,701 5

JACK O’CONNOR HAS made four changes for Kerry’s EirGrid Munster U21 football final against Cork, with a senior defender and an All-Ireland club winner amongst the players drafted in.

pjimage (3) Brian Ó Beaglaoich and Gavin White are both starting for Kerry on Wednesday night. Source: INPHO

Brian Ó Beaglaoich, who lined out for the Kerry senior side in the 2016 championship, has been hampered by an injury picked up in the McGrath Cup in January but he is named at right half-back.

Ó Beaglaoich came on in Kerry’s Munster semi-final win over Waterford and has now secured a starting place.

Jack O'Connor Kerry U21 football manager Jack O'Connor. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

While Gavin White, an All-Ireland club winner with Dr Crokes recently, comes back into the side at left half-back.

White has missed Kerry’s opening games against Clare and Waterford due to club commitments while other Dr Crokes players Micheál Burns and Jordan Kiely also rejoin the panel as they are named on the bench.

Michael Burns Dr Crokes player Micheál Burns. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Brandon Barrett and Matthew O’Sullivan, who missed the Waterford win due to injury, also return as they are named at midfield and corner-forward respectively.

The players to make way are Jack Morgan, Cormac Coffey, Barry O’Sullivan and Lee O’Donoghue.

Eight of the Kerry team started in last year’s narrow final loss to Cork – Jason Foley, Tom O’Sullivan, Tom ‘Leo’ O’Sullivan, Ó Beaglaoich, White, Brian Ó Seanacháin, Matthew Flaherty and Killian Spillane.

Throw-in on Wednesday night in Páirc Uí Rinn is 7.30pm.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member


Matthew Flaherty and Sean O'Donoghue Kerry's Matthew Flaherty and Cork's Sean O'Donoghue will be in opposition again. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Tom (Leo) O’Sullivan (Dingle)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Brian Sugrue (Renard – captain)

5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
6. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)
7. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)

8. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
9. Brian Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue)

10. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)

13. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)
14. Matthew O’Sulliavn (St Michael’s-Foilmore)
15. Cathal Bambury (Dingle)


16. Eoghan O’Brien (Churchill)
17. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)
18. Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks)
19. Conor Geaney (Dingle)
20. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahilly’s)
21. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)
22. Jordan Keily (Dr Crokes)
23. Micheál Burns (Dr Crokes)
24. Roibeard Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)
25. Mark Ryan (Rathmore)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

All-Ireland hurling winning boss to decide on future with Dublin club Cuala this week

The All-Ireland minor hurling and football championships are getting the All-Stars treatment

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


    Back to top