Dublin: 8°C Monday 2 August 2021

9 All-Ireland minor winners in Kerry squad for Munster junior football final against Cork

Páirc Uí Rinn hosts tomorrow’s game.

Tomás Ó Sé celebrating Kerry's All-Ireland minor win in 2014.
Tomás Ó Sé celebrating Kerry's All-Ireland minor win in 2014.
Image: INPHO

KERRY CAN CALL on several recent All-Ireland minor winners for tomorrow night’s Munster junior football final against Cork in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Manager Jimmy Keane has named an unchanged side from the semi-final win over Limerick and his squad has nine players who won All-Ireland minor medals during Kerry’s three-in-a-row between 2014 and 2016.

Defenders Michael Foley and Daniel O’Brien were part of last September’s triumph against Galway with O’Brien involved as well in the 2015 success over Tipperary.

Midfielder Roibeárd Ó Sé was a substitute in the 2014 minor win over Donegal while forwards Killian Spillane and Tomás Ó Sé started in that game.

Amongst the substitutes are Stephen O’Sullivan, part of the successful sides in 2014 and 2015, Brandon Barrett – who was a winner in 2015 – and the pair of Liam Carey and Ivan Parker that sampled glory in 2014. Kerry welcome Thomas Hickey back from injury to be included amongst their substitutes.

Brandon Barrett and Stephen O'Sullivan celebrate after the game Brandon Barrett and Stephen O'Sullivan after the 2015 All-Ireland minor football final. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Wing-back James Walsh and full-forward Conor Cox won All-Ireland junior medals with Kerry in 2012 and 2015, while Jack McGuire, Brendan O’Sullivan, Philip O’Connor, Jeff O’Donoghue and Spillane were involved in that junior triumph two years ago.

Throw-in tomorrow night in Páirc Uí Rinn is 7.30pm.


1. Tomas Mac an tSaoir (An Ghaeltacht)

2. Eamonn Kiely (Brosna)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmets)
4. Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh-Glencar)

5. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel)
6. Michael Foley (Ballydonoghue)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Roibeárd Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)
9. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia Young Islanders)

10. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
11. Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
12. Eánna Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht)

13. Killian Spillane (Templenoe – captain)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets)
15. Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)


16. Kieran Fitzgibbon (Kenmare Shamrocks)
17. Thomas Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds)
18. Liam Carey (Beaufort)
19. Evan Cronin (Spa)
20. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe)
21. Ivan Parker (Churchill)
22. DJ Murphy (Gneeveguilla)
23. PJ Mac Lámh (An Ghaeltacht)
24. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Waterford and Tipperary to take first steps of recovery, tough task for Limerick and the delayed draw

The Banty derby is in store after the latest All-Ireland football qualifier draw

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel