Skip to content
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.

McBrearty and McHugh star as Kilcar claim first title in 24 years

It was Kilcar’s first club championship title since 1993.
Oct 15th 2017, 7:39 PM 10,459 12

Patrick McBrearty celebrates with team mates Kilcar captain Patrick McBrearty celebrates with team mates. Source: Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Kilcar 0-7

Naomh Conaill 0-4

KILCAR ENDED A drought lasting more than two decades on Sunday, as the Donegal club claimed their first club championship in 24 years with a 0-7 to 0-4 win against Naomh Conaill.

The side were looking to make amends for last year’s final defeat where they fell to Glenswilly despite being heavy favourites.

Eoin McHugh and Dara O'Donnell Source: Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Kilcar scored just a solitary point after the break in a brutally drab affair at MacCumhaill Park, however the scenes of celebration after the referee’s final whistle showed that the ends justified the means in the Donegal County final.

With intercounty stars Paddy McBrearty and Mark McHugh among their ranks and in scoring form, they raced into a four point lead before the break.

Daniel Lyons, Pauric Carr and Aodhan McGinley celebrate at the final whistle Source: Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Ciaran Thompson cancelled out McHugh’s opening score for Naomh Conaill’s only score of the opening half, with Kilcar building on their lead after the interval.

Dermot Molloy was sent off with six minutes left for a challenge on Michael Hegarty, who had already registered a point to his name in the first half.

Mark McHugh and his son Noah Mark McHugh pictured with his son Noah. Source: Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Eoghan McGettigan was also sent off late on while the champions saw Stephen McBrearty depart for a black card as Kilcar claimed their first club championship title since 1993.

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Peter Duggan saves deserved draw for Clooney-Quin with last puck of Clare hurling final

Breen fires 0-6 from play as Na Piarsaigh wrestle back Limerick hurling title

Send a tip to the author

The42 Team


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top