Skip to content
Neil Flynn and Eoin Doyle tackle Colm Doyle.
Neil Flynn and Eoin Doyle tackle Colm Doyle.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

13-man Kildare withstand Offaly test to triumph and will face Westmeath in semi-final

Neil Flynn’s second-half goal was the crucial score in Portlaoise.
Jul 4th 2021, 6:59 PM 9,635 2

Kildare 1-15

Offaly 0-13

KILDARE FINISHED WITH 13 men but got the result they desired against Offaly to book a Leinster senior football semi-final place this afternoon.

Jack O’Connor’s side will take on Westmeath at that stage after the draw was made in Leinster this evening after the completion of the quarter-final ties.

Neil Flynn’s goal was the critical score in pushing them clear despite Cian Farrell impressing for the Faithful county, who entered the game off the back of last week’s victory over Louth and having secured promotion last month to Division 2 of the league.

Kildare lost Ryan Houlihan to a second yellow card and Jimmy Hyland to a black card in the final quarter. Those setbacks came after Kildare had been in front 1-13 to 0-8 by the 57th minute.

They were outscored by Offaly 0-5 to 0-2 in the closing quarter but didn’t concede the goal that would have rocked their challenge as Offaly chased them down.

neill-flynn-scores-a-goal Neil Flynn hit the only goal of the game. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Kildare were ahead 0-6 to 0-5 at the break and then they took over in the third quarter to dominate on the scoreboard with Flynn netting with 13 minutes left in normal time.

The Maynooth man finished with 1-7 to his name while Jimmy Hyland and Fergal Conway struck 0-2 apiece.

Cian Farrell was top scorer for Offaly with 0-8, four of those from frees, while veteran Niall McNamee scored a brace.

eoin-doyle-and-niall-darby Kildare's Eoin Doyle and Niall Darby of Offaly. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Scorers for Kildare: Neil Flynn 1-7 (0-4f, 0-2 ’45), Jimmy Hyland, Fergal Conway 0-2 each, Mick O’Grady, Kevin Feely, Aaron Masterson, Darragh Kirwan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Offaly: Cian Farrell 0-8 (0-4f), Niall McNamee 0-2 (0-2f), Paddy Dunican (0-1 ’45), Bernard Allen, Anton Sullivan 0-1 each.


Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

Mark Dempsey (Moorefield), Mick O’Grady (Celbridge), Eoin Doyle (Naas).

Kevin Flynn (Celbridge), David Hyland (Athy), Ryan Houlihan (Moorefield).

Kevin Feely (Athy), Aaron Masterson (Moorfield).

Conor Hartley (Sarsfields), Fergal Conway (Celbridge), Neil Flynn (Maynooth).

Darragh Kirwan (Naas), Ben McCormack (Sarsfields), Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague).


Brian McLoughlin for Kirwan (54)

Shea Ryan (Sarsfields) for Conway (57)

Paddy Brophy (Celbridge) for Hartley (70)

Con Kavanagh (Sarsfields) for Flynn (70)


Paddy Dunican (Shamrocks)

James Lalor (Raheen), Eoin Rigney (Rhode), Niall Darby (Rhode).


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Colm Doyle (Clara), Carl Stewart (Clara), David Dempsey (Ballycommon).

Cathal Mangan (Kilclonfert), Jordan Hayes (Edenderry).

Johnny Moloney (Tullamore), Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh), Anton Sullivan (Rhode).

Niall McNamee (Rhode), Cian Farrell (Edenderry), Rúairí McNamee (Rhode).


Shane Horan (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin) for Rigney (25)

Bernard Allen (Tubber) for Ruairi McNamee (28)

Eoin Carroll (Cappincur) for Mangan (half-time)

Bill Carroll (Cappincur) for Cunningham (58)

Aaron Leavy for Doyle (58)

Referee: Martin McNally (Monaghan)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Send a tip to the author

The42 Team


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top