Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Tuesday 20 April 2021

We go again! Kilkenny and Waterford finish level after fantastic All-Ireland semi-final

Walter Walsh’s late goal rescued the Cats.

Waterford's Jake Dillon battling for the ball with the Kilkenny defence.
Waterford's Jake Dillon battling for the ball with the Kilkenny defence.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kilkenny 1-21
Waterford 0-24

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

KILKENNY HAULED WATERFORD back for a draw after an exhilarating All-Ireland senior hurling semi-final in Croke Park this afternoon.

Conor Fogarty’s monster point in the 74th minute proved the levelling score and ensuring a replay would be required after moments earlier Pauric Mahony had converted a free to bring his tally on the day to 0-14.

But the crucial score had arrived in the 69th minute when Colin Fennelly broke through, offloaded to Walter Walsh and he crashed home the only goal of the game.

It provided a lifeline to Kilkenny after Waterford had looked on the brink of a stunning win after delivering a superb performance.

Indeed Kilkenny could nearly have capped their comeback after Fogarty’s levelling score with Paul Murphy having a chance from distance but his shot went wide.

Conor Fogarty celebrates scoring the equalising point Colin Fogarty celebrates his equalising point

Paul Murphy reacts Agony for Paul Murphy after his shot goes wide Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The game ebbed and flowed throughout, providing the 2016 hurling summer with the thriller it needed. That was largely down to Waterford’s excellence in testing a Kilkenny team bidding for a Liam MacCarthy Cup three-in-a-row this year.

Pauric Mahony was magnificent in shooting 0-14 while Austin Gleeson sparkled with a 0-5 haul and there was some tremendous individual showings from Jamie Barron and Michael Walsh.

However Kilkenny’s resilience surfaced again. Richie Hogan’s 0-4 haul in the opening period was invaluable while TJ Reid’s marksmanship from placed balls saw him amass a total of 0-11.

Waterford will rue a series of wides late in the game before Walsh’s goal when they could have moved out of sight of Kilkenny. TJ Reid’s 61st minute free cut Waterford’s advantage to 0-23 to 0-20 before Patrick Curran, Mahony, Gleeson, Brian O’Halloran and Kevin Moran all saw efforts veer off target. Then Walsh pounced for that crucial 68th minute goal.

It was a marvellous match for the 34,432 fans present in Croke Park. Kilkenny were in front 0-5 to 0-4 in the 12th minute but Waterford upped the ante then and never trailed again. They were ahead 0-9 to 0-6 after 19 minutes and 0-13 to 0-10 by the 30th minute.

Walter Walsh and Noel Connors after the game Walter Walsh and Noel Connors after today's match Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

A brace of pointed frees from Reid left Kilkenny trailing 0-13 to 0-12 at the interval and Reid’s 45th minute point left the teams deadlocked at 0-16 apiece. However then Waterford hit their stride to score six of the next seven points in the game between the 46th and 54th minutes.

They were ahead 0-22 to 0-17 and still had three points to spare nearing the finish line. Yet Kilkenny grimly fought back and a replay is required in Thurles next Saturday.

Austin Gleeson dejected after the game A disappointed Austin Gleeson after the game Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-11 (0-10f, 0-1 ’65), Walter Walsh 1-1, Richie Hogan 0-4, Conor Fogarty 0-2, Eoin Larkin, Michael Fennelly, Colin Fennelly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-14 (0-10f, 0-1 ’65), Austin Gleeson 0-5, Jake Dillon 0-2, Kevin Moran, Patrick Curran, Maurice Shanahan 0-1 each.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
4. Shane Prendergast (Clara)

5. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
6. Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)
9. Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

10. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
15. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

13. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. John Power (Carrickshock)


21. Eoin Larkin (James Stephens) for Farrell (45)
20. Lester Ryan (Clara) for Joyce (49)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Conners (Passage)

5. Tadgh de Burca (Clashmore Kinsalebeg)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
17. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
20. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)

15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
14. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)


21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore) for Dunford (half-time)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan) for Bennett (53)
23. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg) for Dillon (65)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Limerick book second All-Ireland minor final in three years with victory over Dublin

‘It seems a shame that he would be victim to somebody else enticing him’

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: