Dublin: 13°C Saturday 23 October 2021

Kittel wins Giro second stage after Belfast sprint

The German finished ahead of Nacer Bouhanni and Giacomo Nizzolo.

Riders pictured traveling past Dunluce Castle.
Riders pictured traveling past Dunluce Castle.
Image: Presseye/Craig Johnston/INPHO

GERMANY’S MARCEL KITTEL won a wet second stage of the Giro d’Italia in Belfast today, finishing over a length clear of France’s Nacer Bouhanni in a mass sprint.

But it was the rider who finished eighth, Michael Matthews of Australia, who took over the race leader’s pink jersey from his team-mate, Svein Tuft of Canada.

The pair’s squad, Orica-GreenEdge, won yesterday evening’s team time-trial, meaning that all Matthews had to do to claim the jersey was finish ahead of Tuft the next day.

It was an outcome predicted by the team’s director, Matt White, at the stage start in the Northern Irish capital on Saturday morning.

“Michael should have the jersey tonight,” said White. “He’s our sprinter, he’s going well, and that was our plan — to have Svein in pink after the team time-trial, with Michael taking over.”

It meant that the jersey went from one of the oldest riders in the race, 37-year-old Tuft, to one of the youngest. Matthews, known as ‘Bling’, is 23.

The Peloton leaves the Titanic Quarter The Peloton leaves the Titanic Quarter. Source: Presseye/Darren Kidd/INPHO

The 219-kilometre stage took the riders north from Belfast through Ballymena and all the way up to the Bushmills whiskey distillery before looping back around the coast, passing the Giant’s Causeway, and into Belfast city centre.

There were four early attackers — Jeffry Johan Romero of Colombia, Maarten Tjallingii of Holland, Sander Armee of Belgium, and Andrea Fedi of Italy — and they built a lead of six minutes before the peloton began to chase as they raced back towards Belfast.

Inside the final 12km the gap dropped below a minute as the Italian team Cannondale, working for their sprinter Elia Viviani, moved to the front and upped the pace.

Tjallingii launched a late solo bid for victory as the gap hovered around thirty seconds, but the leaders were on borrowed time.

Coming into Belfast, with the break swept up, the rain had stopped but the roads were wet and potentially treacherous.

However, the ninety-degree bend in the final kilometre was negotiated safely and it was Kittel, the winner of four stages at last year’s Tour de France, who emerged at the front for a comfortable win.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Marcel Kittel celebrates winning Giant-Shimano's Marcel Kittel celebrates winning Stage 2. Source: Presseye/William Cherry/INPHO

The race continued in Northern Ireland having lost the local favourite, Dan Martin, who crashed during Friday’s stage.

Martin was diagnosed with a broken collarbone and was set to have an operation in Dublin late on Saturday. He expects to be back on his bike in two weeks and could now target the Tour de France.

“Dan is good at putting things to one side,” said his Garmin-Sharp team director, Charly Wegelius.

“He’s obviously disappointed, because we’re in Ireland, he had worked very hard for this and he’s been going extremely well. But he’s capable of picking other objectives and looking forward.”


1. Marcel Kittel (GER/GIA) 5hr 13min 12sec (average: 41,954 km/h), 2. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/FDJ) samte time, 3. Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA/TRE) s.t., 4. Elia Viviani (ITA/CAN) s.t., 5. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/LAM) s.t., 6. Manuel Belletti (ITA/AND) s.t., 7. Ben Swift (GBR/SKY) s.t., 8. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) s.t., 9. Davide Appollonio (ITA/ALM) s.t., 10. Tyler Farrar (USA/GRM) s.t., 11. Jetse Bol (NED/BKN) s.t., 12. Francesco Chicchi (ITA/NRI) s.t., 13. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LTB) s.t., 14. Leonardo Duque (COL/COL) s.t., 15. Nicola Ruffoni (ITA/BAR) s.t., 16. Tony Hurel (FRA/EUC) s.t., 17. Edwin Avila (COL/COL) s.t., 18. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAR) s.t., 19. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/SKY) s.t., 20. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) s.t.

Selected: 56. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) at 0:03sec, 89. Svein Tuft (CAN/ORI) 0:03, 100. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 0:03,.



1. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) 5hr 37min 54sec, 2. Luke Durbridge (AUS/ORI) à 0:03, 3. Ivan Santaromita (ITA/ORI) 0:03, 4. Svein Tuft (CAN/ORI) 0:03, 5. Pieter Weening (NED/ORI) 0:03, 6. Cameron Meyer (AUS/ORI) 0:03, 7. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 0:08, 8. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/OPQ) 0:08, 9. Pieter Serry (BEL/OPQ) 0:08, 10. Alessandro Petacchi (ITA/OPQ) 0:08, 11. Serge Pauwels (BEL/OPQ) 0:08, 12. Julien Vermote (BEL/OPQ) 0:08, 13. Danilo Wyss (SUI/BMC) 0:10, 14. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 0:10, 15. Daniel Oss (ITA/BMC) 0:10, 16. Steve Morabito (SUI/BMC) 0:10, 17. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 0:10, 18. Yannick Eijssen (BEL/BMC) 0:12, 19. Brett Lancaster (AUS/ORI) 0:25, 20. Wout Poels (NED/OPQ) 0:25.

Selected: 52. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 0:56

© – AFP 2014

Here’s the hit that put no 1 NFL draft pick Jadeveon Clowney on the map

Dan Martin’s teammates vow to make him proud after crashing end to Giro hopes

About the author:


Read next: