Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Baird will play for Leinster A today.
Baird will play for Leinster A today.
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Baird and Kelleher named in Leinster's 'A' side to play Ulster

Leinster ‘A’ face Ulster ‘A’ today at 3pm.
Jan 15th 2021, 10:05 AM 9,852 21

LEINSTER HAVE NAMED their ‘A’ side to face Ulster Rugby ‘A’ this afternoon at Kingspan Stadium (KO 3pm, live on BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport NI website).

Jack Dunne will once again captain Leinster ‘A’ after leading the team in last month’s games against Connacht Eagles and Munster ‘A’.

He will be joined in the second row by Year 1 Academy player Joe McCarthy.

Ryan Baird has been selected at blindside flanker in a back row with Seán O’Brien and Alex Soroka. Clontarf FC man Soroka has bagged three tries in last two games for the ‘A’ team.

Coach Noel McNamara has retained the same starting front row from December’s games against Connacht and Munster.

Recent senior team debutant Greg McGrath, who came through the Leinster youths system with Wexford Wanderers and now plays his club rugby with Lansdowne, makes his third consecutive start for Leinster ‘A’ at tighthead prop.

He will once again play alongside Dan Sheehan at hooker and Marcus Hanan at loosehead prop.

David Hawkshaw will start in the 10 shirt and is paired with Cormac Foley in the half-backs.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Another recent senior debutant, Max O’Reilly, starts at full-back in a back three with Cian Kelleher and Niall Comerford.

A centre pairing of Liam Turner and Jamie Osborne completes the starting XV.

Today’s match kicks off at 3pm and will be available to stream worldwide on the BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport NI website.

Leinster ‘A’ team v Ulster ‘A’

(senior caps in brackets)

15. Max O’Reilly (1)
14. Cian Kelleher (20)
13. Jamie Osborne
12. Liam Turner (5)
11. Niall Comerford
10. David Hawkshaw (4)
9. Cormac Foley
1. Marcus Hanan
2. Dan Sheehan (5)
3. Greg McGrath
4. Joe McCarthy
5. Jack Dunne (10) CAPTAIN
6. Ryan Baird (17)
7. Seán O’Brien
8. Alex Soroka

16. Lee Barron
17. Jack Boyle
18. Tom Clarkson (4)
19. Mark Morrissey
20. Mark Hernan
21. Patrick Patterson (3)
22. Tim Corkery
23. Chris Cosgrave

Send a tip to the author

Garry Doyle


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top