Dublin: 10°C Monday 25 October 2021

Retiring Mike Ross starts as Leinster make sweeping changes for Glasgow's visit to RDS

The eastern province had to withdraw Jack Conan from the squad early on matchday.

Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Updated: 28 April 14.45

LEO CULLEN HAS made 13 changes for the Friday night Guinness Pro12 clash with Glasgow Warriors at the RDS [KO 7.35pm, TG4].

The retained pair named in the original line-up announced on Thursday were Fergus McFadden and Jack Conan. However, five hours before kick-off Leinster have advised that Conan is suffering with a tight calf since yesterday’s captain’s run and will be replaced in the starting XV by Dan Leavy.

After announcing his retirement this week, Mike Ross will get a chance to bid farewell to the RDS as he starts in the front row alongside Peter Dooley and James Tracy. Second row Ross Molony will captain the side, two weeks before he turns 23.

Nick McCarthy will direct a fresh-faced back-line that features returns for Adam and Ross Byrne as well as centre Rory O’Loughlin.

Nick McCarthy and Adam Byrne Scrum-half Nick McCarthy and Adam Byrne at training in UCD this week. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Starters last week, Joey Carbery, Richardt Strauss and Jack McGrath are among the replacements with Peadar Timmins promoted to the 23 in Conan’s place.

While Leinster have already secured their home semi-final berth for the play-offs, the 2015 champions will be unable to extend the Gregor Townsend era into the post-season as they sit eight and seven points Ospreys and Ulster respectively with those two sides set to battle for the fourth and final play-off spot this weekend.


15. Zane Kirchner
14. Adam Byrne
13. Rory O’Loughlin
12. Tom Daly
11. Fergus McFadden
10. Ross Byrne
9. Nick McCarthy

1. Peter Dooley
2. James Tracy
3. Mike Ross
4. Ross Molony Capt.
5. Mick Kearney
6. Dominic Ryan
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Dan Leavy


16. Richardt Strauss
17. Jack McGrath
18. Michael Bent
19. Ian Nagle
20. Peadar Timmins
21. Jamison Gibson-Park
22. Joey Carbery
23. Noel Reid

Glasgow Warriors

15. Tommy Seymour
14. Leonardo Sarto
13. Nick Grigg
12. Sam Johnson
11. Lee Jones
10. Peter Horne
9. Henry Pyrgos Co-Capt.

1. Alex Allan
2. Fraser Brown
3. Sila Puafisi
4. Brian Alainu’uese
5. Jonny Gray Co-Capt.
6. Tim Swinson
7. Chris Fusaro
8. Adam Ashe


16. Pat MacArthur
17. Gordon Reid
18. Zander Fagerson
19. Rob Harley
20. Matt Fagerson
21. Ali Price
22. Finn Russell
23. Alex Dunbar

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

All Black Jerome Kaino to undergo minor knee surgery in bid to be fit for Lions

There’s another tournament bid that’s well worth backing for Irish rugby this weekend

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: