This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 13 °C Saturday 11 July, 2020

Gibson-Park set for Leinster debut as Kearney and Healy return for final pre-season friendly

Leo Cullen’s men welcome Bath to Donnybrook on Friday.

Gibson-Park will make his debut under the lights at Donnybrook.
Gibson-Park will make his debut under the lights at Donnybrook.
Image: Photosport/Anthony Au-Yeung/INPHO

JAMISON GIBSON-PARK will make his Leinster debut tomorrow evening in the province’s final pre-season friendly against Bath at Donnybrook.

The Kiwi scrum-half, a recent arrival from the Hurricanes, has been included by Leo Cullen in the XV for the visit of the English Premiership side (kick-off 7.30pm).

The Leinster head coach has selected a strong team with the eastern province’s Pro12 campaign opener against Treviso just eight days away.

Rob Kearney will make his first start of the season after fully recovering from the hamstring injury which saw him miss Ireland’s summer tour of South Africa.

Garry Ringrose, meanwhile, is also named in the side while New Zealand-born Ireland U20 international Joey Carbery gets the chance to impress at out-half once again.

Leo Cullen Leinster coach Leo Cullen at the Pro12 season launch earlier this week. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

In the pack, Cian Healy returns for the first time since April while Ross Molony will captain the home side from second row with the returning Mike McCarthy alongside him.

Josh van der Flier, Zane Kirchner and Dominic Ryan are among the replacements, with Cullen expected to give his full squad a run out before the serious business begins.

Last season’s Pro12 finalists have won their two friendlies to date, defeating Ulster and Gloucester over consecutive weekends. Treviso are the visitors to the RDS next Friday 2 September.

Tickets are still available for tomorrow evening’s game at Donnybrook and can be purchased via Ticket Master.

Leinster (v Bath):

15. Rob Kearney
14. Garry Ringrose
13. Rory O’Loughlin
12. Noel Reid
11. Adam Byrne
10. Joey Carbery
9. Jamison Gibson-Park

1. Cian Healy
2. James Tracy
3. Michael Bent
4. Ross Molony (captain)
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Josh Murphy
7. Dan Leavy
8. Peadar Timmins


Bryan Byrne
Andrew Porter
Jeremy Loughman
Hayden Triggs
Dominic Ryan
Nick McCarthy
Cathal Marsh
Zane Kirchner
Sean McNulty
Peter Dooley
Ian Nagle
Josh van der Flier
Charlie Rock
Ross Byrne
Tom Daly
Barry Daly

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Cheika recalls Quade Cooper in a bid to spark Wallaby revival in Wellington

Captain O’Mahony closes in on comeback for Erasmus’ Munster

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: