Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Tuesday 11 May 2021

Ruddock returns for Leinster as Humphreys becomes Ulster centurion

These two provinces are in action against Welsh opposition tomorrow.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

INTERNATIONAL FLANKER RHYS Ruddock will make his first appearance of 2015 when Leinster travel to face the Ospreys tomorrow (19.35).

The 24-year-old starts at blindside having recovered from an arm injury in a potent-looking Leinster line-up.

Matt O’Conner has also been able to call upon Isaac Boss who will captain his team in the fourth v fifth Pro12 clash.

The scrum-half had been selected as back-up to Conor Murray in Ireland’s two Six Nations fixtures so far, but playing from the start tomorrow will surely preclude him from involvement on Sunday.

Gordon D’Arcy partners Ben Te’o in midfield while the eastern province can also boast full internationals in both the back three and the front row with Tadgh Furlong the obvious exception, but no weakness, at tighthead.

Meanwhile, Ulster will also take on Welsh opposition as Scarlets head for Belfast.

Ian Humphreys will win his 100th cap for his native province with Luke Marshall named outside him in the absence of the suspended Stuart McCloskey.

Roger Wilson returns from a week in Ireland camp to captain a pack showing two changes: Dan Tuohy returns from injury to strengthen the second row and Clive Ross starts at openside in place of Mike McComish.

Leinster v Ospreys (KO 19.35):

15. Zane Kirchner
14. Fergus McFadden
13. Ben Te’o
12. Gordon D’Arcy
11. Dave Kearney
10. Jimmy Gopperth
9. Isaac Boss (Capt)
1. Michael Bent
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Tom Denton
5. Kane Douglas
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh Van Der Flier
8. Jack Conan

16. Aaron Dundon
17. Peter Dooley
18. Royce Burke-Flynn
19. Ben Marshall
20. Dominic Ryan
21. Luke McGrath
22. Noel Reid
23. Darragh Fanning

Ulster v Scarlets (KO 19.35)

15. Louis Ludik
14. Craig Gilroy
13. Darren Cave
12. Luke Marshall
11. Mike Allen
10. Ian Humphreys
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Callum Black
2. Rob Herring
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Dan Tuohy
5. Franco Van der Merwe
6. Roger Wilson (Capt)
7. Clive Ross
8. Nick Williams


16. John Andrew
17. Andrew Warwick
18. Bronson Ross
19. Lewis Stevenson
20. Mike McComish
21. Paul Marshall
22. Mike Stanley
23. Rory Scholes

Horne steps in for suspended Russell as Scotland name side for pivotal Italy clash

Here’s who you’ll be watching during TV3′s coverage of the Rugby World Cup

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel