This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 3 April, 2020

Celebrations for Leitrim footballers as they retain FBD League title

They claimed a narrow one-point victory over Roscommon today in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Leitrim's Barry Prior and Donal Wrynn and Senan Kilbride of Roscommon.
Leitrim's Barry Prior and Donal Wrynn and Senan Kilbride of Roscommon.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

Leitrim 2-5
Roscommon 1-7

LEITRIM CREATED HISTORY when they captured the FBD League title in an exciting final at a bitterly cold and wet Pairc MacDiarmada in Carrick-on-Shannon today.

It was the first time ever that Leitrim have ever retained in a title in any grade as they backed up last year’s historic success with another win.

They laid the foundation for victory in the opening half when they played against the strong wind but still led by 1-3 to 0-3 at the break.

The crucial score came after six minutes when Aaron Hickey blasted to the net after Roscommon goalkeeper Darren O’Malley had done well to deprive Ray Cox after a great pass from Emlyn Mulligan.

Wing-back Wayne McKeon crowned a man of the match performance with two excellent points in the opening half. Roscommon failed to use the wind and shot six wides, with all three points in the opening half coming from defenders.

Brothers Diarmuid and Ciaran Murtagh reduced the deficit after the restart with good points but Fergal Clancy and Cox responded for Leitrim.

The key score came four minutes from the end when John Mulligan finished off a good move involving Emlyn Mulligan and Tomas Beirne to open up a five points lead.

A late Niall Daly goal and a point from a free from Cathal Cregg in the dying moments ensured a nervous finish but Leitrim deservedly held on for victory.

Scorers for Leitrim: A Hickey and J Mulligan 1-0 each, W McKeon 0-2, E Mulligan (f), F Clancy and R Cox 0-1 each.

Scorers for Roscommon: N Daly 1-1, D Murtagh 0-2, N Carty, C Daly, C Cregg (f) and C Murtagh 0-1 each.

LEITRIM: C McCrann; B Prior, P Maguire, D Wrynn; W McKeon, P Brennan, G Reynolds; A Hickey, D Moran; K Conlan, R Lowe, F Clancy; E Mulligan, T Beirne, R Cox.

Subs: D Beck for Brennan, black card 23; J Glancy for Lowe 36; G Hickey for Moran 44, J Mulligan for Cox 51, E Mahon for Hickey 59.

ROSCOMMON: D O’Malley; N Collins, N Carty, R Stack; S McDermott, N Daly, C Daly; C Shine, K Higgins; C Devaney, C Burns, M Nally; S Kilbride, C Cregg, C Murtagh.

Subs: M Finneran for Burns 23; D Keane for Devaney 30; D Murtagh for Kilbride 30; D O’Gara for Nally 46; E Smith for Higgins 57;

Referee: Michael Duffy (Sligo).

Kildare retain O’Byrne Cup as Royals fightback ends in damp squib

Davy Fitz steers Clare to third successive Waterford Crystal Cup final with win over UCC

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel