This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Limerick earn emphatic 32-point win over Laois

John Fitzgibbon racked up 1-14 in the comprehensive victory.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Limerick 6-29
Laois 1-12

JOHN FITZGIBBON SHOT 1-14 for Limerick as they trounced a hapless Laois in their Allianz League Division 1B encounter at the Gaelic Grounds.

Limerick were already 3-15 to 0-6 up at half-time after they hit 1-3 without reply early. Barry Nash was a late replacement for the injured Declan Hannon, and he scored the first point, and then the goal after seven minutes.

PJ Scully, also a late change for Laois, got their first from a free soon after and although Ryan Mullaney added another, Limerick were utterly dominant.

Nash made his tally 1-2 by the 16th minute and after Scully brought the scores back to 1-7 to 0-4, Limerick put the game beyond doubt.

Nash slotted his second goal in the 27th minute, and he relayed to John Fitzgibbon for Limerick’s third goal two minutes later.

Limerick had hit Laois for 2-7 before PJ Scully put over a couple of frees and Fitzgibbon rounded off the scoring for the half.

Nash was taken off at half-time as both sides un-loaded their benches early, and Limerick stayed in charge. Graeme Mulcahy bagged his goal, and Limerick’s fourth in the ninth minute of the second-half.

Pat Ryan scored their fifth goal with time running out. Scully kept ticking away for Laois and he grabbed a deserved consolation before Michael Ryan got Limerick’s sixth.

Scorers for Limerick: J Fitzgibbon 1-14 (0-9f, 0-1 sideline), B Nash 2-2, G Mulcahy 1-1, P Browne 0-4, T Morrissey 0-4, P Ryan 1-0, M Ryan 1-0, K O’Brien 0-2, G O’Mahony 0-1, D Byrnes 0-1 (0-1f).

Scorers for Laois: PJ Scully 1-5 (0-4f), C Dwyer 0-3, R Mullaney 0-1, C Collier 0-1, R King 0-1, S Maher 0-1.


1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)

2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell)

5. Paudie O’Brien (Kilmallock)
6. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
7. Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher)

8. Pat Ryan (Doon)
9. Paul Browne (Bruff)

10. Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock)
11. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
12. John Fitzgibbon (Adare)

13. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
15. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell)
26. Barry Nash (South Liberties)


25. Michael Ryan (Murroe Boher) for Nash (35 mins)
22. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s) for O’Brien (35)
18. Wayne McNamara (Adare) for Byrnes (45)
23. James Ryan (Garryspillane) for O’Mahony (51)
21. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo Pallaskenry) for Browne (59)


16. Eoin Reilly (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix)

2. Joe Phelan (Camross)
3. Darren Maher (Clough Ballacolla)
4. Cahir Healy (Portlaoise)

5. Leigh Bergin (Shanahoe)
6. Neil Foyle (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
7. Ryan Mullaney (Castletown)

12. Patrick Purcell (Rathdowney Errill)
9. Ciaran Collier (Camross)

10. Charles Dwyer (Ballinakill)
13. Stephen Maher (Clough Ballacolla)
8. Matthew Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)

24. Willie Dunphy (Clough Ballacolla)
11. Willie Hyland (Clough Ballacolla)
22. PJ Scully (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)


17. Tom Delaney (Clough Ballacolla) for Bergin (35 mins)
15. Ross King (Rathdowney Errill) for Purcell (35)
20. John Walsh (Ballinakill) for Foyle (35)
18. Oisin Carroll (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix) for J Phelan (48)
26. Colm Stapleton (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton) for W Dunphy (63)

Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath).

St Kieran’s see off Templemore to keep title defence on track>

Late point sees Ard Scoil Rís clinch dramatic Croke Cup semi-final win>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Daragh Small

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel