Thursday 9 February 2023 Dublin: 2°C
Cathal Noonan/INPHO Declan Hannon impressed for Limerick today in Mallow.
# Nearly there
Hannon stars as Limerick defeat Cork to close in on Munster SHL final
Adare clubman Hannon shot 1-9 for Limerick.

Limerick 3-17
Cork 0-18

Denis Hurley reports from Mallow

DECLAN HANNON SCORED 1-9 as Limerick moved a step closer to reaching the Munster SHL with victory over Cork at Mallow on Sunday.

Having beaten Kerry in their opening game a fortnight ago, Limerick had to sit out last weekend as their clash with Waterford was postponed. With this victory, though, another win in the re-arranged game with the Déise on Tuesday – fixed for the Gaelic Grounds – would put TJ Ryan’s side in the final.

Goals were the difference for the visitors on a cold and windy day in north Cork. The first, from Graeme Mulcahy in the 19th minute, put them 1-7 to 0-3 in front and helped them to lead by 1-11 to 0-7 at half-time.

While Cork produced a spirited second-half response to come back to within a goal, Hannon’s wonderful finish after David Reidy’s surging run gave Limerick breathing space again and late on Darragh O’Donovan secured the win as he raised a green flag too.

In the first half, Limerick made the most of having the elements at their back as Cork were put on the back foot. Hannon was unerring from frees while Cian Lynch showed up well at centre-forward.

Cian Lynch Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cian Lynch impressed for Limerick in a centre-forward role today. Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

A couple of Paudie O’Sullivan frees before half-time gave Cork some hope at the interval – Pa Cronin had also impressed in the opening period – and the hosts reeled off five unanswered points upon the resumption to leave it 1-12 to 0-12.

They couldn’t engineer a goal chance though, in contrast to Limerick, who forced Anthony Nash into a number of good saves on top of the chances they took. They will seek to make it three wins from three on Tuesday.

Kieran Kingston Cathal Noonan / INPHO Kieran Kingston and his Cork management saw their team lose out today. Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Limerick: Declan Hannon 1-9 (0-7 frees, 0-1 65), Graeme Mulcahy 1-2, Cian Lynch 0-3, Darragh O’Donovan 1-0, Pat Ryan, David Reidy, Paul Browne 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Paudie O’Sullivan 0-7 (0-5 frees, 0-1 65), Patrick Cronin 0-4, Conor Lehane 0-3, William Leahy 0-2, Paul Haughney, Patrick Horgan 0-1 each.


1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)

17. Seán Finn (Bruff)
3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
4. Richie English (Doon)

5. Seánie O’Brien (Patrickswell)
6. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
7. Séamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher)

8. James Ryan (Garryspillane)
9. Pat Ryan (Doon)

10. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
12. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)

13. Thomas O’Brien (Patrickswell)
14. Declan Hannon (Ahane)
28. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

18. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock) for Morrissey (49)
25. John Fitzgibbon (Adare) for O’Brien (49)
20. Wayne McNamara (Adare) for O’Connell (61)
26. Paul Browne (Bruff) for Mulcahy (61)
23. John Riordan (Templeglantine) for James Ryan (67)


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Patrick O’Sullivan (Carrigtwohill)
3. Patrick O’Mahony (Midleton)
4. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)

5. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
6. Conor Twomey (Newtownshandrum)
7. Niall Cashman (Blackrock)

8. Paul Haughney (Midleton)
9. Cathal Cormack (Blackrock)

10. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
11. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
12. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)

13. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
14. William Leahy (Aghada)
15. Conor Lehane (Midleton)

23. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers) for Meade (half-time)
18. William Egan (Kilbrin) for Brosnan (49)
25. Cormac Murphy (Mallow) for Patrick O’Sullivan (57)
19. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s) for Cormack (62)
21. Patrick O’Rourke (Na Piarsaigh) for Leahy (65)

Referee: Thomas Walsh (Waterford).

Limerick’s Munster title-winning captain of 2013 Donal O’Grady retires from inter-county hurling

Kerry gain McGrath Cup win away to Tipperary as league build-up continues

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel