This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Wednesday 21 November, 2018

Tipperary finally end losing streak against Limerick to reach Munster hurling final

The sides clashed at the Gaelic Grounds this afternoon.

Limerick's Seamus Hickey blocks the goal bound shot from Tipperary's Seamus Callanan.
Limerick's Seamus Hickey blocks the goal bound shot from Tipperary's Seamus Callanan.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Tipperary 4-23
Limerick 1-16

Fintan O’Toole reports from the Gaelic Grounds

TIPPERARY ENDED THEIR losing streak against Limerick in the Munster championship in style today as they ruthlessly despatched their opponents by 16 points at the Gaelic Grounds.

Tipperary advanced to a Munster final date with Waterford on 12 July as they blitzed TJ Ryan’s side on their home patch.

At the break Tipperary had sprinted into a 2-12 to 0-12 lead with Seamus Callanan bagging a brace of goals but Limerick moved back into contention in the second-half.

Shane Dowling struck a penalty to the net and they cut the gap to a point, 2-12 to 1-14, by the 45th minute.

However Tipperary accelerated clear again as they outscored Limerick by 2-11 to 0-2 for the remainder of the game with Jason Forde notching their third goal and debutant Michael Breen coming off the bench for their fourth goal in the dying embers of the clash.

Tipperary’s attack looked threatening throughout with 2014 Allstar duo Callanan and John O’Dwyer replicating last season’s form as they shot 2-12 between them. Jason Forde also showed up well with a 1-3 return while there was plenty to admire in the play of Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher.

Jason Forde celebrates scoring a goal Jason Forde celebrates hitting home Tipperary's third goal Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Limerick had started the game encouragingly as they raced into a 0-3 to 0-0 lead with Declan Hannon impressing. But then Tipperary hit 1-4 without reply with Callanan shooting to the net off his left after a one-handed flick by O’Dwyer to create the chance.

Limerick tried to rally but were floored once more in the 23rd minute when Richie McCarthy allowed the ball to creep in behind him where Callanan seized on before running to clear to fire in his second goal.

That left Tipperary in possession of a 2-7 to 0-5 lead but Limerick managed to make some inroads before the interval and were 2-12 to 0-12 adrift at the midway mark.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Limerick got a lifeline just after the break when Shane Dowling fired home a penalty. They were denied three times in quick succession as Darren Gleeson produce excellent point-blank saves to deny Cian Lynch, Shane Dowling and Donal O’Grady.

But O’Grady was then pulled down by Michael Cahill and Dowling slammed his shot home to raise the green flag.

The Limerick sharpshooter fired over two more points to cut the deficit to a single point and with Cian Lynch wreaking havoc, the Limerick fans in the 31,488 attendance were in full voice.

Seanie OÕBrien is tackled by Paddy Stapleton Limerick's Seanie O'Brien is tackled by Tipperary's Paddy Stapleton. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

However Limerick couldn’t draw level with some wayward shots hurting their chances. Tipperary steadied themselves after Jason Forde had struck their first point of the second-half in the 49th minute. They went on to reel off a further 1-3 without reply and that third goal in the 56th minute effectively sealed their success.

Graeme Mulcahy’s 61st minute point was Limerick’s final score of the game and Tipperary bagged another 1-5 before the final whistle to seal a comprehensive victory.

Scorers for Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 2-5 (0-2f, 0-1 ’65), John O’Dwyer 0-7 (0-1 ’65), Jason Forde 1-3, Patrick Maher 0-3, Michael Breen 1-0, Shane McGrath 0-2, James Woodlock, Shane Bourke, Niall O’Meara 0-1

Scorers for Limerick: Shane Dowling 1-7 (0-4f, 0-2 ’65, 1-0 pen), Declan Hannon 0-3, Graeme Mulcahy 0-2, Gavin O’Mahony, Donal O’Grady, David Breen, Seanie O’Brien 0-1 each.

Lar Corbett and Noel McGrath Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Paddy Stapleton (Borrisoleigh)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch Drombane)
4. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)

5. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)
6. Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)
9. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)

10. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
11. Brendan Maher (Borrisoleigh)
12. Patrick Maher (Lorrha/Dorrha)

13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom-Inch)
15. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

19. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) for Stapleton (inj) (35)
17. Michael Breen (Ballina) for Callanan (blood) (53)
14. Callanan for Breen (60)
18. Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) for O’Meara (67)
23. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) for McGrath (67)
17. Breen for Callanan (70)

Seamus Callanan celebrates scoring a goal Seamus Callanan celebrates hitting the net for Tipperary. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO


1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)

2. Stephen Walsh (Glenroe)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher)

7. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
6. Gavin O’ Mahony (Kilmallock)
5. Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell)

8. James Ryan (Garryspillane)
9. Paudie O’Brien (Kilmallock)

12. David Breen (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Declan Hannon (Adare)
10. Donal O’Grady (Granagh Ballingarry)

14. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
13. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
15. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

21. Paul Browne (Bruff) for Breen (half-time)
24. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh) for O’Grady (50)
22. John Fitzgibbon (Adare) for Paudie O’Brien (60)
17. Wayne McNamara (Adare) for McCarthy (60)
23. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca) for Ryan (67)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

Lethal Limerick see off Tipp in Munster IHC semi-final

Rampant Kilkenny put Wexford to the sword in Leinster semi-final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


    Trending Tags