This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 18 °C Thursday 13 August, 2020

Limerick stun Declan Browne's Tipperary with dramatic extra-time victory

The Shannonsiders came from three points down in extra-time to make the Munster U21 semi-finals.

Gaelic Grounds hosted last night's game.
Gaelic Grounds hosted last night's game.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Limerick 0-16

Tipperary 0-14


Jackie Cahill reports from the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

LIMERICK have knocked Declan Browne’s Tipperary out of the EirGrid Munster U21 championship this evening.

The Shannonsiders came from three points down in extra-time to claim a dramatic victory in an incident-packed game.

Tipp had two players red-carded in normal time and lost two more, including influential midfielder Jack Kennedy, to black cards in extra-time.

With all six subs used, Jordan Moloney’s black card left Tipp a man light for the majority of the second period of extra-time, as points from Kieran Daly, Michael Donovan and Brian Donovan booked a semi-final clash with Cork for Limerick next week.

In a remarkable encounter, Limerick had also lost Josh Ryan to a straight red card deep in stoppage time at the end of the regulation hour.

Tipp still managed to start extra-time in brilliant fashion, as Ross Peters, the excellent Paudie Feehan and Kennedy (45) lofted over scores.

But Kennedy’s loss to a black card was a turning point and when Moloney walked early in the second period, Limerick came storming back.

Tipp also missed the services of senior pair Emmet Moloney and Willie Connors – the two players who were sent off for second bookable offences earlier in the game.

Limerick were in touch at the turnaround in extra-time, 0-11 to 0-13 down, and outscored Tipp by 0-5 to 0-1 in the second period.

Kieran Daly, Michael Donovan and Brian Donovan sent fine scores sailing over Charlie Manton’s crossbar to delight the home fans in the 758 attendance at the Gaelic Grounds.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jack Kennedy 0-6 (3f, 2 45s), Paudie Feehan 0-3, Brendan Martin 0-2, Joe Ryan, John Lyons & Ross Peters 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Hugh Bourke 0-8 (6f), Josh Ryan (1f, 1 45) & Michael Donovan 0-2 each, Padraig De Brún, Killian Daly, Brian Donovan & Robert Childs 0-1 each.


1. Charlie Manton (Fethard)

2. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
3. Liam Ryan (Clonmel Commercials)
4. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

5. Daire Brennan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
6. Liam Fahey (Rockwell Rovers)
7. Paudie Feehan (Killenaule)

8. Danny Owens (Moyle Rovers) (Captain)
9. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)

10. Aidan Buckley (St. Patrick’s)
11. Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers)
12. Emmet Moloney (Drom-Inch)

13. Joe Ryan (Kilmurry, Cork)
14. Jack Butler (Upperchurch-Drombane)
15. Brendan Martin (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)


18. Michael O’Connor (Cahir) for Butler (43)
21. Daire Egan (Galtee Rovers) for Buckley (49)
20. John Lyons (Grangemockler-Ballyneale) for Ryan (58)
19. Shane Power (Galtee Rovers) for Brennan (64)
23. Jordan Moloney (JK Brackens) for Kennedy (b/c 70)
24. Gavin Whelan (Ardfinnan) for Feehan (70)


1. Richard Hayes (St Senans)

2. David Connolly (Adare)
3. Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins)
4. Edward Sheehy (Granagh/Ballingarry)

5. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen)
7. Michael Donovan (Galbally)
12. Killian Ryan (Mungret/St Pauls) (Captain)

9. Tommie Childs (Galtee Gaels)
6. Sean Murphy (Newcastle West)

10. Padraig De Brún (Firies, Kerry)
11. Hugh Bourke (Adare)
15. Brian Donovan (Monaleen)

13. Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh)
8. Josh Ryan (Oola)
14. AJ O’Connor (Newcastle West)


18. Shane Stack (Newcastlewest) for Daly (42)
19. Robert Childs (Galtee Gaels) for De Brún (53)
24. Evan O’Brien (Na Piarsaigh) for O’Connor (56)
20. Mikey Whelan (Hospital/Herbertstown) for T Childs (67)
21. Stephen Brosnan (Newcastlwest) for Murphy (69)
14. AJ O’Connor for K Ryan (79)

Referee – Sean Joy (Kerry)

‘We stood up, we fought, we stuck together and we came out the other side’ – Donal Óg on Cork strike

Working with a football hero in Kerry and preparing for a sellout clash in Tralee against Dublin

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: