Skip to content
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.

Gillane the star man as Limerick, Kilkenny, Galway and Cork players make U21 team of the year

Patrickswell forward Gillane hit 0-44 en route to Limerick’s All-Ireland title win.
Oct 2nd 2017, 10:01 PM 11,472 22

LIMERICK FORWARD AARON Gillane has been crowned the U21 hurler of the year with the Patrickswell player and seven of his All-Ireland winning team-mates making the team of the year.

pjimage (2) Dalton, Gillane and Whelan amongst the winners.

After September’s All-Ireland final triumph, Limerick have been honoured in the Bord Gáis Energy U21 hurling awards for the 2017 season.

Limerick are represented with the defensive trio of Sean Finn, Ronan Lynch and Kyle Hayes with midfielders Colin Ryan and Robbie Hanley both nominated. In attack Gillane is joined by club-mate Cian Lynch and inside forward Peter Casey.

There are three players from beaten finalists Kilkenny – Darren Brennan, Conor Delaney and Jason Cleere – along with three Galway hurlers in Sean Loftus, Conor Whelan and Thomas Monaghan, who all won All-Ireland senior medals in September.

Cork’s Declan Dalton completes the team after his scoring exploits in the Munster championship.

Gillane was crowned player of the year after hitting 0-44 en route to their Munster and All-Ireland title wins, with fellow Limerick players Peter Casey, Sean Finn and Kyle Hayes nominated along with Kilkenny’s Conor Delaney.

Shane Conway, who scored 1-6 for Kerry against Wicklow in the All-Ireland U21 B final, claimed the player of the year award for that championship.

Here’s the team in full:

2017 Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year

1. Darren Brennan (Kilkenny – St Lachtain’s)

Darren Brennan Kilkenny's Darren Brennan Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

2. Sean Finn (Limerick – Bruff)
3. Conor Delaney (Kilkenny – Erins Own)
4. Sean Loftus (Galway – Turloughmore)

Thomas Monaghan and Sean Loftus Galway's Sean Loftus and Thomas Monaghan Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

5. Ronan Lynch (Limerick – Na Piarsaigh)
6. Kyle Hayes (Limerick – Kildimo Pallaskenry)
7. Jason Cleere (Kilkenny – Bennettsbridge)

8. Colin Ryan (Limerick – Pallasgreen)
9. Robbie Hanley (Limerick – Kilmallock)

Robbie Hanley Limerick's Robbie Hanley. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

10. Aaron Gillane (Limerick – Patrickswell)
11. Declan Dalton (Cork – Fr O’Neill’s)
12. Cian Lynch (Limerick – Patrickswell)

Huw Lawlor and Cian Lynch Limerick's Cian Lynch. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

13. Conor Whelan (Galway – Kinvara)
14. Peter Casey (Limerick – Na Piarsaigh)
15. Thomas Monaghan (Galway – Craughwell)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

12 for Dublin, 9 for Cork, 6 for Mayo – 2017 Ladies football All-Star nominees unveiled

Gleeson v Mahony – Waterford stars to face off in city rivals clash after senior quarter-final draw

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top