Dublin: 2°C Sunday 5 December 2021

Limerick see off UCC to bridge nine-year gap between Waterford Crystal finals

Thomas O’Brien and Shane Dowling claimed four points apiece as Limerick set up a final meeting with Cork.

Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Limerick 0-22
UCC 1-17

LIMERICK BOOKED THEIR place in the Waterford Crystal Cup final with this 0-22 to 1-17 win over UCC in Kimallock.

Limerick first final appearance in this competition since 2006 will be against Cork, who beat Clare this afternoon in the other semi final.

Limerick and UCC were level on 11 occasions until finally a late flurry of scores from TJ Ryan’s inter-county side saw them advance by just two points. Limerick were 0-10 to 0-7 ahead at half time.

The game opened at a frantic pace with three points for each side in the opening three minutes – Shane O’Donnell, Alan Cadagon and Conor Lehane scoring for a UCC side that were close to full strength.

But each time the Cork side came with a run of scores Limerick replied with a similar sequence of scores.

The sides were level at 0-6 each on 17 minutes.

But UCC were then to go almost 20minutes without a score while Limerick work an advantage at half time with Conor Allis and Cian Lynch among the scorers.

Midway through the second half the sides were still level 0-14 each. But Limerick were soon 0-18 to 0-15 clear with 10 minutes left in the end to end contest – subs Shane Dowling, Tom Morrissey and Paul Browne on the mark.

Then in the 65th minute DJ Foran goaled for Ger Cunningham’s UCC to leave them trailing 0-18 to 1-6.

But again Limerick responded and this time it was enough to book a final spot with James Ryan, Patrick Begley and Adrian Breen getting their late winning points.

Scorers for Limerick: Shane Dowling (2f) & Thomas O’Brien (4f) 0-4 each, Adrian Breen 0-3, Cian Lynch, James Ryan, Conor Allis (1f) 0-2 each, Niall Moran, Cathal King, Tom Morrissey, Paul Browne, Patrick Begley 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCC: Conor Lehane 0-6 (3f), Rob O’Shea 0-4 (3f), DJ Foran 1-0, Alan Cadagon & Shane O’Keeffe 0-2 each, Shane O’Donnell, Daniel Roche, Paudie Prendergast (f) 0-1 each.


1. Nickie Quaid

2. Stephen Walsh
3. Richie McCarthy
4. Seamus Hickey

5. Wayne McNamara
6. Donal O’Grady
7. Dan Morrissey

8. Conor Allis
9. Cathal King

10. Niall Moran
11. James Ryan
12. Cian Lynch

13. Thomas O’Brien
14. Patrick Begley
15. Adrian Breen


Shane Dowling for O’Brien (h-t)
Tom Condon for McNamara (h-t)
Tom Morrissey for Allis (46)
Paul Browne for King (53).


1. David O’Gorman (Cork)

2. Killian Burke (Cork)
3. David Glynn (Kilkenny)
4. Michael Breen (Tipperary)

5. Cormac Murphy (Cork)
6. Paudie Prendergast (Waterford)
7. Shane Roche (Waterford)

8. Daniel Roche (Cork)
9. Rob O’Shea (Cork)

10. Shane O’Keeffe (Cork)
11. Jamie Barron (Waterford)
12. Conor Lehane (Cork)

13. Brian Hartnett (Cork)
14. Shane O’Donnell (Clare)
15. Alan Cadagon (Cork)


Diarmuid Lestor (Cork) for Burke (h-t)
Michael Collins (Cork) for O’Shea (40)
Eoghan Finn(Cork) for Lehane (51)
DJ Foran (Waterford) for O’Donnell (51)
Rickard Cahalane (Cork) for Breen (59).

Referee: Pat Casey (Waterford).

This article was first published on 24 January at 17.00pm

O’Farrell shoots down Banner as Cork advance to Waterford Crystal final

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel